Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Project Hong Kong

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby Lydiot » Sat Jun 27, 2015 8:30 pm

Thanks.

The ranges were 1500/9000/30000. I changed the first to 3500.


Here's the thing though: Isn't this for when detail starts to show, right? So if I see the buildings, and I'm flying towards them, they shouldn't disappear as I get closer, right?
Lydiot
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby radi » Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:37 pm

Did increasing the range help?

Note that for performance reasons, osm2city creates big (on the order of 3 x 3 km) meshes. The LOD distance is the difference between your position and the center of the mesh, which may very well be behind you, i.e., while you're flying towards a building on the edge of the mesh, the LOD distance actually increases.
OSM buildings for LOWI, EDDC
Custom scenery for VHXX YMML
Edit .stg via the FG Object Placement Tool
radi
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: YMML, EDDC

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby Lydiot » Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:05 am

Increasing didn't help. Just so we're clear on what I did:

1. I started at VHHH and flew straight along ILS.
2. Buildings North-West of VHXX loaded and became visible.
3. BEFORE overflying them they then disappeared.

So it doesn't really make sense. It would mean the buildings would exist only over a very narrow range, and certainly if other people can overfly them while they're there then surely I should be able to as well, right?
Lydiot
 
Posts: 995
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:50 pm

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby radi » Sun Jun 28, 2015 3:13 am

wkitty42 wrote in Sat Jun 27, 2015 4:58 pm:@radi: does osm2city require a special (self)build of fgfs or is it already available directly from a standard build?

From our wiki page:
This Python script takes OpenStreetMap floorplans and creates 3d buildings ready for use in FlightGear.

Osm2city creates scenery objects compatible with any version of FG. No special FG build required. You'll have to install additional textures though.
OSM buildings for LOWI, EDDC
Custom scenery for VHXX YMML
Edit .stg via the FG Object Placement Tool
radi
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: YMML, EDDC

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Jul 10, 2015 6:57 pm

How can you disable the OSM buildings and still see the roads and checkerboard and approach lights? Is it possible? I want to fly this weekend there on Vatsim, but I can't unless the buildings are disabled, and why fly there if there is nothing to see? (As in checker board and terminal)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jul 11, 2015 2:36 am

radi wrote in Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:41 pm:I'd say 'Find out!' if I didn't know your system's specs ;) Yes, it is. If you get rid of all the VHXX{map,city,road}????.* in the .stg, you should still be able to fly there, though. That'll give you the curved lead-in lights, terminal, and the Checkerboard hill. If that works, you may try to keep the VHXX*0101.*, that's the airport's area.


Oh great, thats what I was looking for. I gotta test!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jul 11, 2015 12:15 pm

Didn't work.... I see nothing now...
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby radi » Sun Jul 12, 2015 3:01 am

Compare your current .stg with the original ones. Make sure you've only deleted lines VHXX{map,city,road}????.*
OSM buildings for LOWI, EDDC
Custom scenery for VHXX YMML
Edit .stg via the FG Object Placement Tool
radi
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: YMML, EDDC

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Jul 12, 2015 8:13 pm

I put an # in front and deleted nothing...
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:40 pm

@lego: that may not be the proper way to comment lines in those files... some systems don't allow comments in their data files at all... it may be that you need to copy the original files to a "save" directory and then edit the originals to actually remove those lines...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6551
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Jul 12, 2015 10:06 pm

Hmmm... ok, lemme try.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby MIG29pilot » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:22 pm

Have you tried yet?
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: Windows 10

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:35 pm

yeah didnt work will do git checkout -f master when I get home so I can at least see the checkerboard. then i'll work with the fresh copy to see if i can get it to show just checkerboard and lights
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7713
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby swwon » Thu Dec 17, 2015 8:18 am

Do the buildings have textures? I've followed all the instructions in the read me files and they're all just white blocks. The road and night shading is very nice but I get no textures on the buildings, is that how it currently is, or did I miss something?
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Project Hong Kong

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:25 am

Looks cool
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests