Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Sharing airport layouts

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby elgaton » Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:12 am

That happens because we indeed use the X-Plane Gateway as an airport source, but we also need to:
  • combine that data with other sources (elevation data to draw mountains and hills, OpenStreetMap data to add streets and auto-generated buildings...);
  • rebuild the scenery using a special tool.

Unfortunately, the rebuild takes a long time (on my machine, it takes about 8/9 hours for a single tile), and the developer running the scenery building infrastructure has left the project - other core developers are in touch with him to recover the data that was stored there in order not to rebuild it from scratch (thus saving a lot of time). Additionally, rebuilding a single tile requires rebuilding at least an entire area, because the scenery elevation at the tile margins needs to match the one of the adjacent tiles, which complicates rebuilds.
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby Alant » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:04 am

zacarias wrote in Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:13 am:If Flightgear (and, I presume, Terrasync) is using the X-Plane gateway, why are there so many airports in the X-plane gateway that don't show up in Flightgear, and others that show up but they're not built up (there's just the runways), although they are built-up in X-Plane'


Just adding buildings is a relatively simple task. They can be simply added to the scenery database.

Changing the aircraft (runways, taxiways, signs, boundary) is more complicated as the synchronisation between Xplane and FG does not happen. I have a couple of completed airfields and can find no way to submit them.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:54 pm

Alant wrote in Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:04 am:Changing the aircraft (runways, taxiways, signs, boundary) is more complicated as the synchronisation between Xplane and FG does not happen. I have a couple of completed airfields and can find no way to submit them.

i assume you mean "Changing the airport"??
as for submittal, there is something at xplane's portal... you just won't see it in FG until the scenery is rebuilt...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4630
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby Alant » Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:04 pm

Waiting for the scenery rebuild ............... :)

In the meantime we now have a facility for loading private airfields and scenery. Should we not have a repository for holding airports and scenery that are in the scenery build queue?

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby merspieler » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:21 pm

Alant wrote in Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:04 pm:Waiting for the scenery rebuild ..............


How long do he have to wait?
Is there already on running or planed?
Love at first flight
Checkout Autopush. An improvment to the pushback to make your life easier.
merspieler
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: GCLP
Callsign: LH454, HG3840, LX64
IRC name: merspieler
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Linux

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby D-ECHO » Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:24 pm

IIRC, Torsten (Dreyer) is planning to automate the process and rebuild world scenery on a server, a forum search will probably help ya
User avatar
D-ECHO
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 12:31 pm

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby tdammers » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:16 pm

BIKF still looks broken in current terraGIT:

Image

At first I thought it was a matter of terrain and scenery objects disagreeing with each other, but on closer inspection, you can see that some objects are placed correctly, while others are clearly hovering.
tdammers
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Feb 28, 2018 8:29 pm

terraGit support is found at thejabberwocky.net, it is not found here, since the primary leaders, were for unfortunate, historical reasons, banned.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5507
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Sharing airport layouts

Postby Catalanoic » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:22 am

terragit takes objects from scenery database but these guys dont recalculate new altitudes for their custom terrains
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Previous

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest