Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

osm2city.py development

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:05 pm

I think you need to adjust the LOD settings to solve that?

maybe changing LOD settings in the menu as well?
Last edited by legoboyvdlp on Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5832
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby merspieler » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:08 pm

They are already quite high...
I've got 7000 in detailed and 15000 in rough.
the problem occures within Detailed range...
Love at first flight
Checkout Autopush. An improvment to the pushback to make your life easier.
merspieler
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: GCLP
Callsign: LH454, HG3840, LX64
IRC name: merspieler
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Linux

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:10 pm

what are the ranges in your parameter file?

see level of detail in https://osm2city.readthedocs.io/en/late ... eters.html and https://osm2city.readthedocs.io/en/late ... -lod-label
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5832
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby merspieler » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:12 pm

I haven't changed then -> Defaults
Love at first flight
Checkout Autopush. An improvment to the pushback to make your life easier.
merspieler
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: GCLP
Callsign: LH454, HG3840, LX64
IRC name: merspieler
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Linux

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby adam_one » Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:25 pm

What areas in the United States have been populated with osm2city?

Asking in correct forum thread instead: osm2city available scenery
adam_one
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:41 pm
Version: alpha
OS: pirated

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby adam_one » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:43 am

Why is my scenery generating so slowly? I'm playing Los Angeles on the California package and the buildings aside from a couple of miles out have not yet generated, and I have let the simulator run for 20 minutes?

Oh, and reloading the scenery only sets me back 20 minutes or whatever time I have waited.
adam_one
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:41 pm
Version: alpha
OS: pirated

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby wlbragg » Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:53 am

Somehow I wiped my entire setup of oms2city and all of Kansas that I generated. :evil:
Would anyone consider volunteering to run the state of Kansas. My osm2city setup and data was a version way back before the conversion to the database format which I never installed.
I would be really grateful if it's not to much trouble for someone that has osm2city already installed.
If I am asking for the moon then I suppose I could try to install the latest version and run it myself.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby Thorsten » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:09 am

Why is my scenery generating so slowly? I'm playing Los Angeles on the California package and the buildings aside from a couple of miles out have not yet generated, and I have let the simulator run for 20 minutes?


Because there's a LOD range definition - beyond a certain (configurable) distance no buildings won't be loaded no matter how long you wait.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 9997
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby merspieler » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:56 am

wlbragg: what parameters do you want for the build?
and what bounds?
Love at first flight
Checkout Autopush. An improvment to the pushback to make your life easier.
merspieler
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: GCLP
Callsign: LH454, HG3840, LX64
IRC name: merspieler
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Linux

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:29 pm

Image

Is this indicative of the way being tagged the wrong way in osm?

This is an offslip of a motorway, and I'm a bit concerned about oncoming traffic :)

the traffic was going on the left on the main motorway, so I think its not a left / right problem.


Edit: I continued onto the main road, and the traffic is still going the wrong way... maybe it is a left / right problem, but the main motorway was tagged properly so that it didn't show up...?


Image

There is also the floating building issue. I wonder would it be possible to query the terrain slope and adjust the buildings based on that?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5832
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby wlbragg » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:29 pm

merspieler wrote in Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:56 am:wlbragg: what parameters do you want for the build?
and what bounds?

If it's not too much, I'd take all of Kansas. I can give you the boundaries when I get home and back on my computer. Can you do an are that large or do I need to break it down to more manageable chunks?
As far as parameters, I guess I'm not sure what all there is? If the Sim rendering options can filter whether roads, poles, etc. can be rendered or not, then I guess the works would be great. Especially if we leave it up on the rendered location page.

I hope this answers your questions.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby merspieler » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:15 pm

wlbragg wrote in Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:29 pm:If it's not too much, I'd take all of Kansas. I can give you the boundaries when I get home and back on my computer.

Would be nice to get the exact bounds.

Can you do an are that large or do I need to break it down to more manageable chunks?

I will see... Largest I've build so far was the wider munich area.

As far as parameters, I guess I'm not sure what all there is?

Look and choose: https://osm2city.readthedocs.io/en/late ... eters.html

For my builds I usually use default settings except:
Code: Select all
POINTS_ON_LINE_DISTANCE_MAX = 20
HIGHWAY_TYPE_MIN = 3


Another thing is, that the Kansas file from geofabrik is quite small (53MB) so you probably want some OWBB settings...

Take you're time, I'd start the build tomorrow... probably between 0900Z and 1100Z
Love at first flight
Checkout Autopush. An improvment to the pushback to make your life easier.
merspieler
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: GCLP
Callsign: LH454, HG3840, LX64
IRC name: merspieler
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Linux

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:35 pm

If you don't mind me saying I'd suggest using a higher points_distance_max unless you are trying to generate roads in the middle of a mountain range, I got good results with 750.


OWBB massively increases times to process.
Belfast took over 3 hours (and then was buggy - so I had to scrap it!)

An area the size of kansas might take a week.

you might be faster to map buildings in OSM and then generate it :)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5832
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby wlbragg » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:14 am

@merspieler good news, I found a backup of my work. However if you still want to take a crack at the entire state, the boundaries are
W102_N39 to W95_N37

I'm still unsure of what properties to suggest as it has been so long since I worked with it and don't really have an appreciable understanding of what is needed. Basically I am only interested in buildings and objects, not the roads.

Thank you again for the offer and your willingness to volunteer your time for my benefit.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4183
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby vanosten » Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:26 am

legoboyvdlp wrote in Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:35 pm:If you don't mind me saying I'd suggest using a higher points_distance_max unless you are trying to generate roads in the middle of a mountain range, I got good results with 750.


OWBB massively increases times to process.

That is correct. You can always run with OWBB_GENERATE_BUILDINGS= False to reduce run-time. However then you only get the number of buildings that actually have been mapped.

Belfast took over 3 hours (and then was buggy - so I had to scrap it!)

If you would tell me and maybe show with pictures what you mean, then I might have a chance to correct stuff - maybe at the cost of more run-time for generation :-(
Maintaining osm2city
vanosten
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:38 pm
Location: Denmark - but I am Swiss
Callsign: HB-VANO
Version: latest
OS: Win 10 and Ubuntu

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests