Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

osm2city.py development

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Oct 31, 2015 11:47 am

IAHM-COL had the idea of skipping the XMLs and write the .ac path directly into the stg files.
He and legoboy tested it in LSGG.

So I made a small patch for osm2city which does that when you set NO_XML = True
the patch:
http://media.lug-marl.de/flightgear/osm2city/


here is a screenshot of Bruxelles city center with a blazing fast 60FPS:
http://www.23hq.com/laserman/photo/21776563/original

:-)

when skipping the XML you loose the nice lightmaps at night and also the 3 different LOD
settings.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Oct 31, 2015 1:45 pm

WHOA, dude.
Awesome computer, making for awesome videos! :cool:
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7820
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:57 am

Awesome!!!
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby AlvA91 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:16 pm

Hi guys,

I'm working on a project with FG and just got in touch with it since a couple of days. I wanted to experiment a bit around with some power lines. I saw this article http://wiki.flightgear.org/Areas_populated_with_osm2city_scenery and thought that I can just download a scenery for example "EGOsmScenery" to get a look of how good the already existing projects are (I saw a lot of pictures here, it just looks so great). Somehow, after I put the files from the "EGOsmScenery" in the "Custom Scenery" folder, and started FlightGear at the airport "EGOD Llandbehr" it tooks like 10 minutes to load the scenery and then FlightGear just crashed.

What have I done wrong. I'm running FlightGear 3.4 at a Windows 7 PC with a Intel I7.

The settings in the FlightGear Wizard is:
    C:\Program Files\FlightGear 3.4.0\bin\fgfs.exe
    --fg-root=C:\Program Files\FlightGear 3.4.0\data
    --fg-scenery=C:\Users\User Name\Documents\FlightGear\Custom Scenery;C:\Program Files\FlightGear 3.4.0\data\Scenery;C:\Users\User Name\Documents\FlightGear\TerraSync
    --terrasync-dir=C:\Users\User Name\Documents\FlightGear\TerraSync
    --fg-aircraft=C:\Users\User Name\Documents\FlightGear\Aircraft
    --airport=EGOD
    --aircraft=ufo
    --disable-random-objects
    --prop:/sim/rendering/random-vegetation=false
    --disable-ai-models
    --disable-ai-traffic
    --disable-real-weather-fetch
    --prop:/sim/menubar/autovisibility/enabled=1
    --bpp=32
    --timeofday=noon
    --enable-terrasync
    --disable-fgcom

Thanks a lot for the help
Last edited by AlvA91 on Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AlvA91
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:22 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:27 pm

Hi AlvA91!
This scenery demands a lot of resources from a computer.
Can we see your computer's resources please?
(RAM, CPU, GPU are most important)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7820
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby AlvA91 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:39 pm

Hi,

sorry for the delay of my response.

Specs:

CPU: Intel Core I7 920
RAM. 6GB
GPU: Geforce 6600 GT <--- this one is kinda slow, I know. I could get a better one, if the GPU is the problem

Actually I only need the pylons and the power line between the pylons, but somehow I struggle a bit with getting the osm2pylon.py running, cause it always looks for a folder called "IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'LSZR\\buildings.osm'

I'm kinda new to OSM, Python and FG, but in the wiki they talk about 'wget' to get OSM files, but wget was actually developed for Linux and I only have a Windows PC available.

Thanks for the help

AlvA91
AlvA91
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:22 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:46 pm

Hi again, AlvA91, no worries!
Your computer looks decent enough for osm2City and it's mates...
I have absolutely no idea what else the problem could be.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7820
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:19 pm

AlvA91 wrote in Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:39 pm:in the wiki they talk about 'wget' to get OSM files, but wget was actually developed for Linux and I only have a Windows PC available.


alternatively go to www.openstreetmap.org, zoom to your area and click export
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby AlvA91 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:56 pm

Hi again,

@ legoboyvdlp: After a restart my pc it works, but I can't find any pylons with powerlines. Do you know, around which airports of the 'Areas populated with osm2city sceneries' I can find some powerlines for testing?

@pommesschrank: Hi I already did this but then the only file I got from there is called 'map' without any extension, I was expecting a file with an '.osm' at the end. What am I supposed to do with that file, cause in the wiki, they always talk about a file with the name 'buildings.osm''? So because of that I'm a bit confused.

Thank you all alot
AlvA91
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:22 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:35 pm

No, I' sorry, as my hardware is too ancient to run this!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7820
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby AlvA91 » Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:49 pm

Okay, but thank you nevertheless ;)
AlvA91
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:22 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:16 pm

I can also help! :) i have a
i5 @ 3.5GHz
8GB RAM
ASUS Strix GTX 960 4GB
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby pommesschranke » Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:46 pm

AlvA91 wrote in Wed Nov 04, 2015 2:56 pm:which airports of the 'Areas populated with osm2city sceneries' I can find some powerlines for testing?


I think there are no powerlines in those scenery packages. what do you want to test?

Hi I already did this but then the only file I got from there is called 'map' without any extension,

I guess your (windows?) operating system is hiding the file extension from you.
download the map.osm, put it in the right folder and rename it to buildings.osm

http://www.23hq.com/laserman/photo/21780956/original :-)
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby AlvA91 » Thu Nov 05, 2015 11:03 am

Hi again,

you guys are just fabulous, didn't expect that much help :D

I did something wrong yesterday cause I downloaded like whole Germany. Now I just downloaded Stuttgart and converted the file from .pbf to a .osm file with a osmconverter. That just did the job fine. Nevertheless I had some problem with the FG_ELEV so I just turned it down. But still there are some curious mistakes. Now I put the FG_Elev on again to show you the errors I get:

Image

Image

Pommesschranke, the picture you put online is just exactly what I'm looking for, is it possible to get a scenery like this from you, I still have to figure out, how to make powerlines by myself. It's a project to increase the safety of pilots, especially pilots of helicopters, because there were some terrible accidents, and I should simulate Powerlines so that we can do some research to increase the safty. It's a project for my university.

Thank you all alot
AlvA91
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 11:22 am

Re: osm2city.py development

Postby radi » Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:41 pm

Please see the troubleshooting section in the wiki, try the fgelev procedure described there, and report back. I suspect you haven't set the path to fgelev.exe properly. Read the error messages regarding fgelev carefully, and double check with your installation.
OSM buildings for LOWI, EDDC
Custom scenery for VHXX YMML
Edit .stg via the FG Object Placement Tool
radi
 
Posts: 645
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:24 pm
Location: YMML, EDDC

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests