Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Desperately need ground elevation information!

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Desperately need ground elevation information!

Postby prasenjit » Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:38 pm

Hey,

I am pretty new to Flightgear developlment. I was wondering whether there was a function or variable that can tell me the current elevation of the ground (distance from sea level) WITHOUT taking into account the building heights. I just want the raw ground elevation. I used the function get_elevation_m from the Scenery class but that takes building heights into account. Any help will be appreciated
prasenjit

Re: Desperately need ground elevation information!

Postby prasenjit » Wed Sep 17, 2008 9:39 pm

I have the latitude longitude information, however current plane location height is perfectly fine.
prasenjit

Postby martin » Wed Sep 17, 2008 10:06 pm

prasenjit wrote:I am pretty new to Flightgear developlment. I was wondering whether there was a function or variable that can tell me the current elevation of the ground (distance from sea level) WITHOUT taking into account the building heights. I just want the raw ground elevation. I used the function get_elevation_m from the Scenery class but that takes building heights into account. Any help will be appreciated

Aside from the fact that this has nothing to do with "Scenery Enhancement" (read the topic of this board), you're hitting a 'feature' of FlightGear here.
In order to allow aircraft to land on bridges or helicopters on top of buildings, the respective surface is being counted in when reading the current gound elevation at a given position.

To get the raw terrain elevation, point ${FG_SCENERY} to a directory that contains the "Terrain" only,

Martin.
martin

Postby zakalawe » Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:13 am