Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:47 am

This Project is for my flying school, they are interested in using Flightgear to help train pilots, amazingly enough, they use a VERY simalar aircraft to one Connect is Developing, The Jabiru 170, although the flying school operates 160`s, the 170 will still have a simaler feel, and may be able to be adapted anyway.
Here is a shot from above with a brief Discription:
Image
Some shots i took from my first lessons, i can add locations on the airfield if you wish for it......
Image
Image
Image
Found a vidio of a Takeoff in the aircraft i flew from the Field:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKNOoLBMjSU
and another of a circut and landing!:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P394n-V2 ... ure=relmfu
You also get a good glimpse of the Airfield from this vidio, my local flying clubs intro vidio!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iq-A96so ... r_embedded

IF you are interested to help you can PM me or post intrest, I need some help, as i personaly do not have the skills to do this, and would enjoy learning how to do so,
the only other thing is the local murray river, witch is currently about 8 seperate rivers continuisly crisscrossing eachother, and it looks ugly! so if we can make that good within 9 miles of the airport (dosent have to be detailed, only the river needs changing) it will be perfict and i will take it to the school.

Lachlan.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby statto » Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:01 am

To model an airport, especially an airport you know, can be a lot of fun. If you don't know what you are doing, it can be quite a learning experience.

There are three things you "need" to do:
a) edit apt.dat to add the grass taxiway
b) edit the shapefiles to add the correct river
c) create the models of the hangars, buildings, and trees in the area.

Of those three, c) is by far the easiest to pick up and learn, though a) is probably not that difficult to do either. I would recommend a download of Google Sketchup and a download of the .ac creator plugin.

I would start with one single hangar. Figure out how long, wide and tall a hangar is and make a simple 3D box with those dimensions in sketchup and export to FlightGear. You don't even need to do the textures if you don't know how to do it. Just take it one step at a time and have fun. Good photos will really help you as well.
Custom Scenery available from http://www.stattosoftware.com/flightgear
statto
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby Figaro » Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:42 am

statto wrote in Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:01 am:...Good photos will really help you as well.


I told him the exact same thing in a conversation on Facebook. I suggested he ask the aeroclub if he can grab a camera and run around like a madman taking photos of everything to produce the most realistic recreation possible. (Just re-iterating it here, as I deem it important; especially considering he's got the opportunity as he lives so close)

Cheers,
Sam.
Sam a.k.a. Figaro

Videos
User avatar
Figaro
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:23 pm
Callsign: VH-FIG
OS: Win 7

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:35 am

The one main problem is i am not going back till the next school holidays in about 10 weeks :/
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:07 pm

Sorry about the lack of photos, found some of these on images, i figured the best i could find on the airport was two form FSX,
Hangars (this is what they look like, just grey and only one door each side :):
Image
FSX photos:
Image
[img]http://i1200.photobucket.com/albums/bb334/spitfirebruce/ca8504ff.jpg[/img.

Basic Checklist:
-=Models=-
-=River=-
-=Runway=-

Thanks, i will try to model the hangars, but never get the size right for FG :(

Lachlan.

Edit. Grammar and Pics :)
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:03 am

Brief update, into the airport Layout:
Image

Thanks to Raptor for help with the terra-gear side of it!!!

Lachlan.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:33 am

More Progress as i got this screen from Raptor:
Image
About to test in fg, photo`s posted soon!
Lachlan.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Fri Apr 27, 2012 11:51 am

Fantastic breakthrough, thanks so mutch to raptor.......
Image

Still much more to do, but i feel good.....
It is in 810, but i may end up doing 850........

edit, forgot this part!
If you do not know what i have done, I have basically added the aprons, taxiways, runway turnaround for the dirt runways and the grass runway, now all that's left is the models, although there isn't much to do, i feel this will come out well!

Lachlan.

If you are a good modeler, please send me a PM, you only need to do one building if you want.... or none if you don't want to!
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:26 am

DOWNLOAD(30mb .rar file) (V.1.0)

-=PLEASE READ THIS=-

EVERYTHING required, all the scenery you need for the South Australia area, also has a pic, Includes a windows version of terragear......

Instructions:
All you have to do is install "e130s40" like you would normally install scenery!

If you have good modelling skills or terrain editing (for the river) please feel free to notify me!!

Edit:
wrong file package.......
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue May 01, 2012 7:02 am

Started modeling the Large hangar today....... I need some answers to the following questions:

1. How do i make the model size smaller (as the hangar is to big in fg)

2. Textures.....

Thank you so much if anyone can answer these!

Lachlan.
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby El Flauta » Tue May 01, 2012 8:46 am

Great!

Some of us enjoy aeroclubs and civilian air camps more than boring big airports... :D
Vive FlightGear! Have you a Ñ on your keyboard? Spain-LatinAmerica FlightGear community!
--
PZL M18B Dromader
CASA C-101 Aviojet
Cessna 337G Skymaster
User avatar
El Flauta
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:09 am
Location: SCVM, Chile
Callsign: CC-FLT
Version: 3
OS: Windows 7 SP1

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue May 01, 2012 10:48 am

Thanks......

Solved the size problems, now only textures remain:

1. How
i. where can i find some under the GNU, as i cant take photo`s for another 10 weeks, and i don`t feel lie waiting.....
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona


Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue May 01, 2012 11:41 am

Modeling development, i will implement the textures tonight/tomorow, but no more screens or so for tonight, thanks!
Large hangar (done but without texture):
Image
Aero club, no texture
Image
Mediam Hangar:
Image


Lachlan
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Re: Murray Bridge/Pallamana Aerodrome (YMBD)

Postby spitfirebruce21 » Tue May 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Having some more trouble, as the AC3D export does not work in sketchup :/

Error message:

Error Loading File File-Ac3d_export.rb
C:/Program Files (x86)/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins/File-Ac3d_export.rb:1: Invalid char `\037' in expression
C:/Program Files (x86)/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins/File-Ac3d_export.rb:1: Invalid char `\213' in expression
C:/Program Files (x86)/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins/File-Ac3d_export.rb:1: Invalid char `\010' in expression
Projects: YMBD, YJST
Horizon Flightgear Hangar!
Flightgear On Android
I may have a house on the ground, but my Home is in the sky.
User avatar
spitfirebruce21
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Adelaide outskirts (YMBD)
Callsign: ADL-FTW
Version: 2.6
OS: Windows 7 profesiona

Next

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests