Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:54 pm

Maven is a standard way of building Java and managing dependecies. Much like CMake. My build and deploy process is fully automated now. Version 1.17 should fix the ailments and be built soon.
portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby reeed » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:54 pm

Huge thanks to portree-kid for all the hard work in maintaining TerraMaster the past 3 years.

I have no objections to the links on the FG wiki pointing to portree-kid's github page and repo.

I have also updated the old TerraMaster github pages to point to his.

Please continue to support portree-kid and his good work ! :-)
reeed
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: SQC7294

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Jun 09, 2018 4:50 pm

Hi,
Just reporting an issue with 1.16:

Image

A few people on discord have this issue as well.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Jun 09, 2018 7:41 pm

reeed wrote in Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:54 pm:Huge thanks to portree-kid for all the hard work in maintaining TerraMaster the past 3 years.

wow! has it really been that long? :shock:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:20 pm

I'm terribly sorry for the hicups in the release process. Should someone want to participate in future it should be much easier since it is a Maven project.
portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sat Jun 09, 2018 8:23 pm

portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:58 am

reeed wrote in Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:54 pm:Huge thanks to portree-kid for all the hard work in maintaining TerraMaster the past 3 years.

I have no objections to the links on the FG wiki pointing to portree-kid's github page and repo.

I have also updated the old TerraMaster github pages to point to his.

Please continue to support portree-kid and his good work ! :-)


Thank you for the kind words. It was a great program from the start and would be a shame to go unmaintained.
portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby powoflight » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:47 am

I thank you also for your work. V17 works like charm... :)
powoflight
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:04 am
Location: LOWW
Version: 2018.2
OS: win7 Ubuntu 16.04VM

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 5:51 pm

Couldn't agree more with the kind words said to Keith, Thanks Keith and keep up the hard work for all of us users! For all the hard work Keith puts in I had no hesitation in designing the new Terramaster logo for him back in November 2017 mainly just to show my appreciation for all the work he does! Image
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01, BIGJET1
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby sidi762 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:47 am

Hi!

First of all thanks for you effort on this great tool. I loved it.

However, the new version seems to have removed the svn. I'm in China, and http never works for me. The progress bar went from 0 to 100 quickly and nothing was changed.

Is there a solution for this?

Best regards,
Sidi
sidi762
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:15 am
Callsign: DAG0762
Version: 2017.1.3
OS: MacOS Sierra

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:32 am

Sorry to hear that. There is no direct solution. SVN was retired quite a while ago. The server serving the SVN data hasn't been updated in a while. Do you require a proxy? What happens if you browse to http://flightgear.sourceforge.net/scenery/ ? Maybe I can get http work for you.
portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:53 pm

i just asked about this on the dev list... https works for accessing several of the FG project areas but not the above given link to the scenery... i've asked about this and maybe we can get https access... if that works, maybe sidi will have more luck?

also, for now, there's no scenery to update... the scenery processing is being moved to AWS and some things need to be rewritten and adjusted for the new environment... hopefully it'll all be back in the next few days or so... once this work is completed, i expect to see a fairly large download of new changes and additions ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:00 pm

portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:17 pm

right but we should also be able to have https with the SF urls...

here's what i'm looking at... svn is gone, kaput... the new scenery update stuff all works over http... https should also be available just because... especially in this day in time... anyway, FG is coded to look these URLs up in DNS using SRV records... what happens when one doesn't work? does FG try another one or? well, it doesn't... currently it selects one and that's it... i don't recall how terramaster is doing it now, if it is doing the DNS SRV lookup like FG or if it selects one from a hard coded list but i can see where being able to choose the protocol or even force one URL from the list may be desired... FG (and terrasync.py) allow to specify the URL to use... folks in sidi's situation may be able to choose to use https://mpserver16.flightgear.org/scenery/ or another one that uses https if they cannot use http for some reason... i don't know what it would take for terramaster to be able to offer this in its settings options but it is certainly something to think about adding if it does not already have this capability...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4755
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: TerraMaster: a new scenery manager

Postby portreekid » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:33 pm

Terramaster uses all the URLs of the highest priority in a round robin fashion. During a session TerraMaster will mark non responding servers as dead. If https would be working I would expect it to be the only remaining server in the list after a while. It's intentional not to offer the possibility to edit the list of servers. That would would defeat the round robin approach of load distribution.
portreekid
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests