Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

New York City

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: New York City

Postby Jorgos9 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:25 pm

What about the Empire State Building :D
This is my Signature:

Hello!
Jorgos9
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Callsign: GT9
OS: Windows XP, Ubuntu

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:18 pm

If no one is doing, then I take it! Will be available next week! Thanks for the suggestion!
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

Re: New York City

Postby Jorgos9 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:31 pm

Well you can also create the NewYorker Hotel :D
And if you want more:

Crystler Building.
WTC 5. <<<It still Stands!>>>
Spiderman's home :p
KingKong on the Empire State building
A Taxi. for random scenery.
Central Park.
Central Museum <<<From Night at The Museum>>> (you know what i'm talking about)

If you can make this all it would be great!
Now we just need the "Baron" with Guns on it :) <<<For Use With KingKong>>>
This is my Signature:

Hello!
Jorgos9
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Callsign: GT9
OS: Windows XP, Ubuntu

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Sun Jan 09, 2011 5:17 pm

Jorgos9 wrote:Crystler Building.

If you mean "Chrysler", MOJO is working on it!
Jorgos9 wrote:<<<From Night at The Museum>>> (you know what i'm talking about)

If it's the movie "La Nuit au Musée" with Ben Stiller, I watched it at the cinema.

Well, here is a screenshot of the wip :
Image

Still need to respect the scales however.
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

Re: New York City

Postby Jorgos9 » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:04 pm

Yeah the movie with Ben Stiller :D
Nice Screenshot :wink:
This is my Signature:

Hello!
Jorgos9
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Callsign: GT9
OS: Windows XP, Ubuntu

Re: New York City

Postby statto » Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:41 pm

Very nice!

Just a reminder to send your models into http://scenemodels.flightgear.org/ once you are done with them!
Custom Scenery available from http://www.stattosoftware.com/flightgear
statto
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: New York City

Postby JonS » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:24 pm

penta wrote:Is there a way to see which landmarks are already modeled for New York City? I've looked in [1] but can't find a way to search for NYC

Thanks

[1] http://scenemodels.flightgear.org/


Try http://scenemodels.flightgear.org/maps/ ... 0TTTTTTTTT

Jon
JonS
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:03 pm

Re: New York City

Postby Gijs » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:32 pm

FYI, the map pointed out by JonS does not work in IE. For now: use another browser instead ;)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9363
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: New York City

Postby MAKG » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:47 pm

Jorgos9 wrote:Central Museum <<<From Night at The Museum>>> (you know what i'm talking about)


FYI, that's the American Museum of Natural History. It's located in Central Park West near 77th St. There are several other distinctively-architected museums on the other side of the park (5th Ave). And you have to include the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel (central park south) and the Public Library.
MAKG
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:11 pm
Location: California Central Coast

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:49 am

Hello, I've completed the Empire State Building !
A generic skyscraper was deleted at the same time !

Image


Sending it to the database...
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

Re: New York City

Postby Jorgos9 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:09 pm

LOL Are the buildings standing on water? :P
This is my Signature:

Hello!
Jorgos9
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:39 pm
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Callsign: GT9
OS: Windows XP, Ubuntu

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 pm

Jorgos9 wrote:LOL Are the buildings standing on water? :P

Yeah! It's because the current mapfile of Manhattan really lacks precision! Therefore, even if buildings are on the river, exact positions must be respected.
As you can see here : http://mapserver.flightgear.org/map/?lon=-4.41840585539649&lat=48.4484146908477&zoom=11&layers=0B000000FTTFFFFFTFT, the right side is much more detailed than the left one.
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

Re: New York City

Postby statto » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:52 pm

The good news is the Empire State Building is now in FlightGear!

The bad news is the generic building the Empire State Building is also still in FlightGear.

Hang tight while we fix this... but NYC is coming along! Thanks JVC!
Custom Scenery available from http://www.stattosoftware.com/flightgear
statto
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:57 pm

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:14 am

Oh, I asked to delete it at the same time when I sent the model.

Here is the line to delete :

w080n40/w074n40/1745064.stg
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Commercial/generic_skyscraper_06.ac -73.985556 40.748333 -15.4 180
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

Re: New York City

Postby JVC » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:37 pm

I'm going to work on the United Nations Headquarters, if no one i working on it. :)
JVC
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:38 pm
Location: France
OS: Archlinux

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests