Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby srikanth b s » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:15 am

Hi,

I just want to know whether the Flightgear 2.0.0 has a provision to set the antialiasing parameters for the scenery generated (Not for the HUD because its already antialiasing option there and opengl is used for that). If so how to vary those antialiasing parameters so as to increase the quality and performance of the scenery generated. Please help me in sorting this out this issue.

Regards,
Srikanth
srikanth b s
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 5:26 am
Location: India

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby El Flauta » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:37 pm

An atialiasing option for all FG rendering -including aircraft edges- could be nice, too... :roll:
Vive FlightGear! Have you a Ñ on your keyboard? Spain-LatinAmerica FlightGear community!
--
PZL M18B Dromader
CASA C-101 Aviojet
Cessna 337G Skymaster
User avatar
El Flauta
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:09 am
Location: SCVM, Chile
Callsign: CC-FLT
Version: 3
OS: Windows 7 SP1

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby fredb » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:16 pm

Code: Select all
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-sample-buffers=true
--prop:/sim/rendering/multi-samples=4
User avatar
fredb
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby SkyWlf77 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:38 pm

Hi, fredb...

Where would you put that information if you are using FGRun instead of the command line?

Thanks!
Jason
SkyWlf77
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:19 am
Location: Central Illinois
Callsign: SkyWlf77
Version: 2
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby fredb » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:59 am

In Advanced... > Properties

Image
User avatar
fredb
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby El Flauta » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:46 pm

I waited for that feature for more than two years... why was not included in FgRun visible options? It's a basic...!!!
Vive FlightGear! Have you a Ñ on your keyboard? Spain-LatinAmerica FlightGear community!
--
PZL M18B Dromader
CASA C-101 Aviojet
Cessna 337G Skymaster
User avatar
El Flauta
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:09 am
Location: SCVM, Chile
Callsign: CC-FLT
Version: 3
OS: Windows 7 SP1

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby someguy » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:26 pm

Indeed! Thanks, Fred. Now to see how much it affects the frame rate.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby SkyWlf77 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 12:39 am

Thank you, Fred! Very much appreciated and easy to follow :)

-Jason
SkyWlf77
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:19 am
Location: Central Illinois
Callsign: SkyWlf77
Version: 2
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby someguy » Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:58 am

Uh, oh. Certain models (over-detailed airliners in particular) can drop my frame rate from 60 to 1 with anti-aliasing enabled.

Never mind.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby fredb » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:48 am

Of course, you can choose another value for the number of samples. Something greater or equal to 2
User avatar
fredb
 
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby i4dnf » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:00 pm

Funny thing is that I found the fps improve with that set to 1(as opposed to not using antialiasing), and in the nVidia driver setting the antialiasing option to "Enhance the app setting"(8600gt on Linux with latest git). With the property not set, and the driver option to off.. my fps varies(drops) badly (especially when particles are involved).
(I have the framerate capped at 30 fps anyhow, and using vsync).
Last edited by i4dnf on Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i4dnf
Retired
 
Posts: 745
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:17 am
Location: LRBS
Callsign: YR-I4D
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo Linux ~amd64

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby someguy » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:50 pm

Changing the setting from 4 to 2 helps--fps only drops to 8, plus substantial lag every time a new aircraft spawns in. The fact remains, some of those models are simply overcooked. Do we really need to render the panel of an airliner 5 miles away over MP? Why does fgfs insist on trying such foolishness?
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby Tuxklok » Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:06 pm

someguy wrote:Do we really need to render the panel of an airliner 5 miles away over MP? Why does fgfs insist on trying such foolishness?

It is completely up to the person who created the aircraft and other models to do so properly. Besides the creator stepping up and modeling, texturing, animating, etc in more efficient ways, FlightGear itself provides many ways to do level of detail and other optimizations. Totally up to the aircraft maker to take advantage of this stuff, and some of our better creators do just that.

FlightGear only does what it's told to do, foolish or otherwise....same as any other simulator or game.

cheers
The Austria Scenery Project - more info
fg-scenery-tools - gitorious | videos
fgcomgui - Open source, cross platform, gui front end for fgcom. more info

More random musings and doings can be found on my personal site. (work in progress)
User avatar
Tuxklok
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Callsign: Tuxklok / N1292P
OS: GNU/Linux

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby Hooray » Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:34 pm

Tuxklok wrote:
someguy wrote:Do we really need to render the panel of an airliner 5 miles away over MP? Why does fgfs insist on trying such foolishness?

It is completely up to the person who created the aircraft and other models to do so properly. Besides the creator stepping up and modeling, texturing, animating, etc in more efficient ways, FlightGear itself provides many ways to do level of detail and other optimizations. Totally up to the aircraft maker to take advantage of this stuff, and some of our better creators do just that.

FlightGear only does what it's told to do, foolish or otherwise....same as any other simulator or game.


This is all correct, but actually a number of people have previously talked about different ways for doing this -at least somewhat- automatically:

stuart wrote:Re:Feature Poll
Thinking about this a bit more, I think I've come up with a simpler solution, which is to make a code fix that optionally disables loading of all the submodels for AI aircraft. I suggest you hold off creating lots of AI aircraft until I see if my fix is worth pursuing. Obviously it won't solve your problems for v2.0.0 though :(

I've also located my semi-automated conversion of lots of Aircraft to AI versions. Unfortunately the gzipped version is still 92MB in size, so I'll need to see if I can find some way to upload it.

-Stuart


http://www.mail-archive.com/flightgear- ... 27423.html
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewto ... f=6&t=1970
http://www.flightgear.org/forums/viewto ... f=4&t=2460
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11329
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Antialiasing Effects in Flightgear 2.0.0

Postby D-79 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:13 pm

I used the information published here to set up an [wiki]Anti-aliasing[/wiki]. Thanks to fredb! Any improvements on the arcticle are welcome.

David
callsign: D-79
Scenery contributions: EDDM, EDDP, LOWI, ENAL and ENSD, North Sea oil platforms, taxiway signs at EDDF and EDDT
User avatar
D-79
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 10:24 am
Location: EDDT (Berlin, Germany)
Version: GIT
OS: Win 7


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lomar and 2 guests