Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Autopilot and route manager

Implementing and testing pid controller

Designing a stable autopilot is one of the hardest things. Need help?

Implementing and testing pid controller

Postby tjark » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:31 pm

Hey,

im studying electrical engineering in Germany and due to Corona we have to do a project instead of an exam. The task is to implement a pid controller for roll, pitch and yaw and optimize them. I read the articles in the wiki regarding the autopilot and know how to code the controller but i still have no idea how to implement it or test it. I also tried to get a debug file to visualize the behavior of the aircraft, but it isnt generated or saved in some mysterious path..
I hope someone can help me and has an idea how i can get this working.

Tjark
tjark

Re: Implementing and testing pid controller

Postby Johan G » Thu Apr 16, 2020 1:16 am

tjark wrote in Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:31 pm:I read the articles in the wiki regarding the autopilot and know how to code the controller but i still have no idea how to implement it or test it.

It might help to look at existing examples, for example the KAP 140 of the Cessna 182. Typically autopilots can be found under the Systems directory of aircraft directories. Look at the simple ones, and do not forget to also look at the Aircraft-set.xml file to see how it is set up.

PID tuning can be quite tricky, and while one can throw control theory like Nyquist plots at it, one can also approach it with trial and error. To some degree, order of operations is relevant, in this context which gains to adjust and when.

It might help to search YouTube for "PID regulator tuning" and going through some videos. A good starter is the below might be:

Electronoobs, "PID Balance+Ball | full explanation & tuning" (13 min, uploaded July 14, 2019). The PID tuning stuff begins at 7 minutes.