Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Autopilot and route manager

S-TEC 55X

Designing a stable autopilot is one of the hardest things. Need help?

S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:28 pm

Hi,
Here is thread for S-TEC 55X.

It is designed to emulate the real one designed from real manuals! So please read manuals to learn it.

Installation guide and info is here: http://wiki.flightgear.org/S-TEC_55X

Repo:
http://www.github.com/Octal450/IT-STEC55X.git

Kind Regards,
Josh
Last edited by Octal450 on Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby wlbragg » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:34 pm

Thanks!
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:41 pm

Haha you are faster than me.

You're welcome!

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:14 pm

I will be re-factoring some of the nasal code to be more efficient, and then aiming to put the S-TEC 55X into FGData.
Nobody has reported any issues thus far, so if you have issues --- please bring them to me rapidly!

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby zakharov » Tue May 05, 2020 5:28 am

Hello Octal450,

I'm trying to interface the zkv1000 with the S-TEC 55X for a modified version of Diamond-DA42.

I had to hack a line in Nasal/stec-55x.nas to avoid flooding the terminal with props errors because the device wasn't yet electrified until the corresponding switch is pushed on panel:
Code: Select all
@@ -201,7 +201,7 @@ var ITAF = {
                        }
                }
               
-               if (powerSrc.getValue() >= 8 and masterSW.getValue() > 0) {
+               if (powerSrc.getValue() != nil and powerSrc.getValue() >= 8 and masterSW.getValue() > 0) {
                        hasPower.setBoolValue(1);
                        if (powerUpTest.getValue() == -1 and systemAlive.getBoolValue()) { # Begin power on test
                                powerUpTest.setValue(1);


For the rest, I'm learning by reading the Nasal/stec-55x.nas and I test with some print() to see in details the if(){}else{} with the variables values and see where it leads. Maybe the add of some debug output log triggered by a property or Nasal var would be nice. Or if you have a better way to suggest I'll be glad to know it :)

I hope earing soon about the IT-STEC55X re-factoring :)

zakh
Callsign: zakh Immat: f-zakh
System: Intel Core i7-9750H, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti MaxQ 6Go, Debian stable
FG next (compiled)
in dev: zkv1000 PFD/MFD
zakharov
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:31 am
Version: next
OS: Debian stable

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Tue May 05, 2020 9:28 pm

Hi zakh,
Can fix that - but that means you did not properly add the S-TEC's power source initialization! All props should be initialized by default in -set or nasal.

I will be integrating support for D-ECHO'd G5, if you want I can integrate support for you system too. Tell me the plane if you want.

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby zakharov » Thu May 07, 2020 6:47 am

Hello Octal450,

actually by "flooded" I though about some cycles of message for around 3 seconds (17 iterations). I don't understand why the messages are shown as the stex55x.nas is loaded after the electrical initialization in order. Anyway you're right, I have to search a bit deeper why it takes so long to get a double value set for /systems/electrical/outputs/autopilot prop.

I've got an another reason for the S-TEC 55X non serviceable: the turn-indicator spin should be higher than 20%. But on my config aircraft it is always 0, and even if I change it manually (for testing), it get decreasing slowing back to 0. Do I miss something in turn-indicator config (if any) ?

I guess there is something related to the turn-coordinator state, I continue to search, and forcefully with electrical system. But I'm maybe completely wrong. If you have any clue on this I'll be glad to know :) I'm modifying an out of tree version of the helijah's Diamond DA42 (from jeep's revision)

Here you can find an integration of the S-TEC 55X into the new AFCS system of zkv1000. Not fully tested yet because of the spin issue, but I don't lose the hope to make this last serviceable soon.

edit 1: it was the turn-coordinator electric feeding ! now I've got the turn-indicator spin to 1, and I'm going to continue the stec55x integration :)
edit 2: fix typo on name on repo and this post

Kind regards
zakh
Last edited by zakharov on Fri May 08, 2020 8:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Callsign: zakh Immat: f-zakh
System: Intel Core i7-9750H, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti MaxQ 6Go, Debian stable
FG next (compiled)
in dev: zkv1000 PFD/MFD
zakharov
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:31 am
Version: next
OS: Debian stable

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Maerchenprinz » Thu May 07, 2020 10:34 am

EDIT: Just noticed your edit, so skip this post...
Hi zakharov!

Stop searching, just add this to /Systems/instrumentations.xml:
Code: Select all
  <turn-indicator>
    <name>turn-indicator</name>
    <number>0</number>
  </turn-indicator>

I think that should make it ("generic instrument").
Hope that helps!

Ciao,

Adrian
User avatar
Maerchenprinz
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: Bochum, it's better, much better than you think!
Callsign: Adrian

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Thu May 07, 2020 2:40 pm

Hi Guys...
This is all documented on the wiki!
http://wiki.flightgear.org/S-TEC_55X#In ... structions

Zakh, I am honored to see that you have done the integration correctly, without modifying the S-TEC's nasal file ;) This is the intended way, as then updates can be seamless. Good work! That also means no edits are needed from my end, appreciated.

I would request if you could change "Octal540" to "Octal450" in your readme, it looks like a typo! Thx! :mrgreen:

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby zakharov » Fri May 08, 2020 9:04 am

Hello,

I would request if you could change "Octal540" to "Octal450" in your readme, it looks like a typo! Thx! :mrgreen:

Commited, and modified on my previous post too :) (and apologizes)

Best regards
zakh
Callsign: zakh Immat: f-zakh
System: Intel Core i7-9750H, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti MaxQ 6Go, Debian stable
FG next (compiled)
in dev: zkv1000 PFD/MFD
zakharov
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:31 am
Version: next
OS: Debian stable

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby Octal450 » Fri May 08, 2020 4:33 pm

Hi Zakh,
Thx!!! I will update the wiki soon with infos about compatibility!

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4704
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: S-TEC 55X

Postby zakharov » Mon May 11, 2020 5:39 pm

Hello,

the zkv1000 now integrates HDG and GPS roll modes. I currently try it on a modified version of Diamond DA42, on which the FDM could be not that nice.

My first impressions, I find the stec55x a bit rude and fit best for long legs because with a change of direction it begins to zig-zag a lot. So strong that it make the aircraft lose altitude if you don't anticipate enough in advance. It is really observable on GPS mode. During the whole leg it makes the aircraft turn right and left and right, lose the course, but surprisingly and the end it go straight to the GPS point. Another point is when we approach the GPS waypoint the course invert and makes the autopilot a bit crazy as it wants to go back, and I need to counter it strongly (don't want to be a passanger at this time :D).

Using HDG is nice, a bit zig-zagy but I can handle it. I've done a very nice 338NM trip with DA42 equipped with zkv1000 between LFLG (Grenoble, FR) and LFBD (Bordeaux, FR), following the flightplan created by FG. It was really pleasant to just has to manage the change of heading and power to keep altitude :)

here's one a picture of the trip

Best regards
zakh
Callsign: zakh Immat: f-zakh
System: Intel Core i7-9750H, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti MaxQ 6Go, Debian stable
FG next (compiled)
in dev: zkv1000 PFD/MFD
zakharov
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:31 am
Version: next
OS: Debian stable


Return to Autopilot and route manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest