Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Autopilot and route manager

747-8 TCAS Display

Designing a stable autopilot is one of the hardest things. Need help?

747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:30 pm

I have the "standard" 747-8i from FG and the VIP/Vvip versions I found somewhere I cant remember (imo the VIP versions perform better than the "standard". But neither of them have the A/P route displayed in the TCAS display screen. I'm wondering if there is a newer version I can download from somewhere that would have that accurately displayed?
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby EK00 » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:36 pm

github, mine shows just fine
EK00
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 5:36 pm
Location: UK
Callsign: EK00
Version: 2016.3.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby tikibar » Mon Mar 28, 2016 10:43 pm

You mean like this?
Image

That's in the standard FG 747-8 (mirrored in the link in my signature).

I'm curious what you mean when you say the VIP versions "perform better." Last I saw them, they were an old version of the standard FG 748 with the same FDM, air-to-air refuelling in the VVIP, and a kludged CDU.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:03 pm

Thanks guys, maybe I have an older version of the plane, I'll redownload.
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Tue May 17, 2016 10:17 pm

I've flown both back to back on numerous occasions now, and the VIP flys "better" for my taste, the systems work more consistently, climbs stronger and the autopilot doesn't lurch into a dive upon engagement, and the display is more detailed with radar and traffic actually shows. I have to "play with the auto throttle and alt to get it to do its thing on the FG version. I go from 22-39 fps on the VIP to 10-15 on the FGv. All of the lights actually work, (logo, wing, etc) on the VIP as well. All I want to do is make the A/P path show like it does on the FG version on this one. Isn't that an easy port over from Nasal and a couple xml files? How would I do that?
Oh and a working flight director and working switch?
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby tikibar » Tue May 17, 2016 11:18 pm

You're not going to find any support for the VIP here. That's strictly an fgmembers thing. If you're actually interested in support for the -8, read on.

First, where are you getting the aircraft? The best place is the link in my signature or through the official FG channels.

Which systems don't work consistently? What are they doing that is not what you expect? What do you expect?

For the climb performance, have you compared the weights? Typically, a VIP configuration will have less weight on board, and the default may reflect that. A heavier load will impact the climb performance.

I can't really comment on the AP without knowing what modes and settings you're using.

The VIP has the old display, I think. The new display is better, has all the things you mentioned. You just have to try all the buttons. Those features turn on and off. The canvas system that drives the navigation display has some frame rate impacts sometimes. Scenery, weather, clouds, other aircraft in MP also affect frame rate more so. Are those things consistent between your tests as well?

All the external lights work on the -8. You have to have AC power on through external power, APU generators, or engine generators.

I can't reproduce your AT problem. It works perfectly for me. Are you trying to turn it on below 200 ft? That won't work, nor should it.

If you want to try to port the canvas ND over to the VIP, look in 747-8i/Models/Cockpit at the ND.nas, forward.xml, and forward.ac files. There's also some additions in the -set.xml or -main.xml files. A flight director is on the future plans list, but I wouldn't hold my breath were I you.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Wed May 18, 2016 6:29 am

Thanks for your response. The -8 is the one from your link. It doesn't have the half circle arches for radar either on the display. I don't try to engage A/P until appropriate, and it drops downward before swinging back and forth trying to regain it's proper path. That needs to go...so does the automatic A/P disengage at "minimums". If I want to autoland I should have the choice to do so.
Is anyone currently working on the -8?
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby Octal450 » Wed May 18, 2016 6:34 am

@swonn
Autoland is not easy to do at all, and I doubt the 747-8's AP can autoland, if it disables at minimums. I suggest disabling at 50ft just in case, but minimums is a bit to far. Autothrust however, is pretty easy to make to stay on until touchdown, in the MD-11 from my repo, the autothrust idles at 50ft (as does real one) and disconnects at 20ft. The GA button works. I suggest this to be added to the 747-8i.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby tikibar » Wed May 18, 2016 6:53 am

Autoland isn't available, so take the yoke and fly the airplane. Autoland isn't trivial to implement, and it's not very high on my list.

Like I said, keep pushing the buttons. I think the CTR button is the one you're looking for.

I can't really comment on the AP without knowing what modes and settings you're using.

Is anybody working on the 747-8? Yes. I am. But moving into my new house and my real job are taking precedence at the moment. Probably the next bit of work I'll do on it is to add a proper FLCH mode to the AP and a more sophisticated AT.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Wed May 18, 2016 7:18 am

Ok, I had no idea about autoland. I though you could just keep the A/P all the way in to touchdown. I'm not a programmer but trying to pick small things up here and there. Tiki, congrats on the new home! Real life takes precedence and I appreciate your work here.
Since you're so adamant about your -8 being "more complete" I guess I'll stick with it.

*edit* yeah man, the logo and wing lights don't work at all. And since when does a plane in flch climb at 900 fpm? It also needs a top of decent indicator and realistic rate of decent when it's on Vnav decent, you don't always have to use flch to change altutude, VNAV should be fine. And maybe a little wing flex?
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby Octal450 » Wed May 18, 2016 5:18 pm

@swwon
Perhaps you did not read his message.

tkikbar wrote: Probably the next bit of work I'll do on it is to add a proper FLCH mode to the AP


The old FLCH is the same as ALT.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby tikibar » Wed May 18, 2016 5:25 pm

swwon, are you using Rembrandt? It's possible the lights don't work with Rembrandt. I never use it and didn't test it. They work fine in ALS.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby Octal450 » Wed May 18, 2016 7:11 pm

The entire plane will not work correctly with Rembrandt. You cannot even look out of the windscreen. This is why I cannot fly it.

Regards,
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby swwon » Thu May 19, 2016 5:05 am

I never use Rembrandt. And for the -8 windscreens are all grayed out, so yeah, you can't use Rembrandt with the -8.
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: 747-8 TCAS Display

Postby tikibar » Thu May 19, 2016 6:07 am

Hmmm... might have to look into that. For the lights, maybe it's in the rendering settings. They work fine for me, but I haven't checked lights in the latest fg versions. When I have a desk and my computer is out of the box, I'll do some more checking.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Next

Return to Autopilot and route manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest