Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

How compile fgqcanvas  Topic is solved

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

How compile fgqcanvas  

Postby powoflight » Mon Oct 19, 2020 3:46 pm

Good afternoon or good morning ... Depence on the timezone ...

Have allready sucessful compiled next/ 2020.4 with ubuntu and download_and_compile.sh .
In /home/bern/flightgear/Next202010/flightgear/utils there is also a fgqcanvas subdir.

But in
/home/bern/flightgear/Next202010/install/flightgear/bin
its missing .

So what have i to add in download_and_compile.sh to compile fgqcanvas too?
powoflight
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:04 am
Location: LOWW
Callsign: OE-POW
Version: 2020.4
OS: win7 Ubuntu 18.04

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:06 pm

AFAIK, nothing... this should be handled in the cmake files... that means letting the devs know on the devs' mailing list so it can be added by default for all supported systems...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby Gijs » Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:22 pm

It's already been added to cmake years ago, but it's disabled by default ;-)
If I remember correctly, setting ENABLE_FGQCANVAS to ON should make it compile (edit: correct)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby rominet » Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:52 pm

Right, therefore powoflight is probably looking for:
Code: Select all
FG_CMAKEARGS="-DENABLE_FGQCANVAS=ON" download_and_compile.sh ...

or:
Code: Select all
FG_CMAKEARGS="-DENABLE_FGQCANVAS:BOOL=ON" download_and_compile.sh ...

(both should work).
rominet
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:33 pm
Callsign: F-KATS
Version: Git next
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby rominet » Tue Oct 20, 2020 9:55 am

With the very latest version of download_and_compile.sh from this morning (FGMeta commit c731caa23d5b4), the recommended syntax is now:
Code: Select all
download_and_compile.sh --fg-cmake-arg='-DENABLE_FGQCANVAS=ON' ...

The options --sg-cmake-arg and --fg-cmake-arg allow one to pass arguments containing spaces to CMake, which wasn't possible with the interface based on the SG_CMAKEARGS and FG_CMAKEARGS environment variables.
rominet
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:33 pm
Callsign: F-KATS
Version: Git next
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby powoflight » Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:29 am

@ wkitty42 @Gijs
Found CMakeLists.txt and option (ENABLE_FGQCANVAS "Set to ON to build the Qt-based remote canvas application" OFF)
but the file is read only.
I wasn't sure about the effects in connection with download_and_compile.sh

Tried @rominet Version and works.
Code: Select all
FG_CMAKEARGS="-DENABLE_FGQCANVAS=ON" /home/bern/flightgear/fgmeta/download_and_compile.sh -j4 FGFS


Dont tried because till now i dont download last version from today.
Code: Select all
download_and_compile.sh --fg-cmake-arg='-DENABLE_FGQCANVAS=ON' ...
powoflight
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:04 am
Location: LOWW
Callsign: OE-POW
Version: 2020.4
OS: win7 Ubuntu 18.04

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby rominet » Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:54 am

Great! Certainly you did well not to modify anything in the CMakeLists.txt file. I think Gijs was just pointing you to the canonical place where the option is defined (this way, we can be sure it is the correct spelling, etc.). But I don't think he was suggesting to change that file. :)
rominet
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:33 pm
Callsign: F-KATS
Version: Git next
OS: Debian GNU/Linux

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby Gijs » Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:55 am

Indeed. Thanks to rominet for providing a ready-to-use example :-)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9544
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:10 pm

powoflight wrote in Tue Oct 20, 2020 10:29 am:@ wkitty42 @Gijs
Found CMakeLists.txt and option (ENABLE_FGQCANVAS "Set to ON to build the Qt-based remote canvas application" OFF)
but the file is read only.
I wasn't sure about the effects in connection with download_and_compile.sh

FWIW: i don't recommend to edit the cmake files yourself... unless one is a cmake jockey and really knows what they are doing, this is something best left to the core devs to manage and adjust for us...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: How compile fgqcanvas

Postby powoflight » Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:53 pm

Yes, i have seen that. But now i will try to compile the stuff in win7.
However 25 / 40 years ago in the past i have compiled a lot, but this was assembler, fortran, pascal and later c and c sharp... :D

However thanks to everybody.
Bernhard
powoflight
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:04 am
Location: LOWW
Callsign: OE-POW
Version: 2020.4
OS: win7 Ubuntu 18.04


Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests