Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

Error with launcher option

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

Error with launcher option

Postby Muhammad Ahmad » Thu Nov 22, 2018 6:52 am

I have gone through a scripted installation of FG and resulted with FG 2018.3.1 but I am unable to access the launchpad where I could change the aircraft and scenery .how can I get out of it and enable it if anybody can briefly guide me
Muhammad Ahmad
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby FlugHund » Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:00 am

Do you get no launcher at all or do you see a plain white window instead?

Try this command:
Code: Select all
sh run_fgrun.sh --launcher

Please report back. As a general rule, the more precise you describe your problems the better help you get.
User avatar
FlugHund
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:27 pm
Callsign: D-HUND
IRC name: D-HUND / debdog
Version: next
OS: Devuan

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby yanes » Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:06 am

From the the bin directory just run :
Code: Select all
./ fgfs --launcher


The bin directory should contain an "fgfs" executable file

Regards
User avatar
yanes
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:14 pm
Location: Tunisia
Callsign: YANES
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Linux

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby Muhammad Ahmad » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:25 am

I get a white window?
Muhammad Ahmad
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:12 pm

yes, the white window with the launcher is the current problem being worked on for the RC... there should be some information in the fgfs.log file in %appdata% on winwhatever; on linux, it is in ~/.fgfs... i don't know where to find it on mac but probably similar to linux...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5577
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby Muhammad Ahmad » Fri Nov 23, 2018 2:55 pm

I am getting this window[img][img]https://ibb.co/mrGjQV[/img]
Muhammad Ahmad
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby Hooray » Fri Nov 23, 2018 6:03 pm

That launcher is a relatively "new" addition to FlightGear, it's using Qt5/QQ - and whenever you build from git/from source, you should understand that things are not necessarily "stable" at all.

That being said, the launcher is entirely optional, too. You use any other launcher, or even no launcher at all, i.e. by invoking fgfs directly. For details, just run fgfs --help --verbose. Depending on your OS/build, you may have to set the FGROOT environment variable first for that to work.


For details, see:

http://wiki.flightgear.org/$FG_ROOT
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Command_line_options

PS: The screen shot you posted is actually showing a different kind of error, due to missing privileges/permissions. But you still aren't even running fgfs here, just a script intended to invoke it.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11326
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby FlugHund » Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:01 pm

Muhammad Ahmad, I am sorry, that was my fault. I've posted the wrong command.

Try this one instead:
Code: Select all
cd ~/fgfs
sh run_fgfs.sh --launcher
User avatar
FlugHund
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:27 pm
Callsign: D-HUND
IRC name: D-HUND / debdog
Version: next
OS: Devuan

Re: Error with launcher option

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:13 am

@OP,
please download or recompile the release candidate. It seems the white launcher bug has been fixed.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6939
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP


Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest