Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

OpenSceneGraph PATH

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

OpenSceneGraph PATH

Postby TioZe » Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:48 pm

Continuing to show my inexperience...

From the superbuild step through, "Note you will need to add the OpenSceneGraph install directory to the PATH variables in the 'fgfs' target properties".

How is this done? I'm more experienced compiling in a Linux environment so this MSVC stuff is a bit foreign to me.

Thanks.
TioZe

Re: OpenSceneGraph PATH

Postby rreiter » Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:22 am

Hi, I'm also a newbie when it comes to building flightgear but I'll try and answer the way I did it and maybe someone else can tell us it's right or wrong.
I've been having failures trying to run Flightgear in debug mode (debug assertion failure - "vector iterator not incrementable") and it may have to do with these settings we are talking about here.
Here is where I set the PATH, let me know if it works for you:

In Solution Explorer window, right-click on fgfs node and select Properties menu item to open the "fgfs Property pages" window.
Expand the Configuration Properties and under it select Debugging .
You should see a row labelled Environment.
Click on that row and then on the right-side the downarrow and select <Edit...> and there you can enter the path setting, eg, here is mine:
PATH=V:/homevs/metabuild/install/msvc100/OpenSceneGraph/bin

(During my own testing I've also added a path to my build's FG_ROOT since I'm still fumbling a bit about what's needed where.)
FG_ROOT=V:/homevs/metabuild/fgbuild/src/Main

Note that on the same window where you set Environment, you can also set Command Arguments for the app itself.
I've set mine something like this: "--fg-root=V:\homevs\metabuild\fgbuild\src\Main\data