Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

Trouble getting my windows build running.

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

Trouble getting my windows build running.

Postby chriscalef » Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:41 pm

(Apologies for cross posting with devel mailing list, not sure what has more eyes on it...)

Hey everybody,

Thanks for all of your great work! I'm new to this project, but very impressed so far!

My issue is on my Windows 7 box... I downloaded all the git sources over the weekend and got it building and running just fine on my Ubuntu machine (12.10) but I'm having issues running my build in Windows. I got everything to compile (finally) but when it came to run time I realized I did not have any of the dlls that should live next to the executable, so I tried grabbing them all from my flightgear 2.8.0.5 binary install.

Of course, it turned out those were all outdated, so I grabbed all new ones out of the OSG and libsvn projects. That covered almost all of the dlls in use, with the exceptions of iconv.dll, gettextlib.dll, gettextsrc.dll, the msvcr & msvcp dlls, and the PocoFoundation and PocoNet dlls. (I think that's all of them anyway.)

The really weird thing is I built it in debug, and when it crashed it was in msvcr90.dll... I have two versions of msvcr in my game directory actually, but they are msvcr71 and msvcr100. I searched around and found several copies of msvcr90 in my windows system folders, but they seemed to be mostly in archive folders, while in my system32 and system64 folders I have only msvcr100 and 110 versions. [EDIT: these archive-looking folders are indeed where the file is being accessed from... I am using Visual Studio 9.0 so perhaps it has to use the 90 version to stay compatible?]

EDIT: in release mode, I also notice that I am apparently loading 64 bit versions of several dlls, or at least dlls from the SysWOW64 directory in Windows... (winmm.dll and others) Could this be my problem?