Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

Timeout Cloning Simgear

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:14 am

I am trying to build FlightGear 2.6.0 using download_and_compile.sh scrip. When it gets to Simgear, this error appears in the terminal
Code: Select all
Cloning into 'simgear'...
fatal: unable to connect to gitorious.org:
gitorious.org[0: 42.2.0.192]: errno=Connection timed out
gitorious.org[1: 2a02:c0:1014::1]: errno=Network is unreachable

I have tried 3 times, the last time was 3 hours after the second. Do I need to wait longer or what can I do?
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby Harald » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:29 am

I can't help you, but cloning simgear was done in a few seconds (or minutes) on my box.
Perhaps a firewall problem ? ports are not opened ?

HJ.
Harald
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Strasbourg, France
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:47 pm

I am using Ubuntu 12.04. I do not think it has a firewal enabled by default. I cannot see any in System Settings. I am using a modem with a built in firewall. How can I tell what ports to open?
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:51 pm

On second thoughts it may not be the modem/firewall either because I had built FlightGear successfilly before, with same modem/firewall, as it is set now.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby polly » Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:41 pm

"Network is unreachable" usually means port blocked for me. If you managed this before and can't now then something is different. Did you re-install or update packages, etc ?
/etc/services says git uses port 9418 tcp/udp, I've never had to open that port but my interface is trusted.
What happened when you pinged the address for git ? ( terminal session: ping 42.2.0.192 )
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:24 am

polly wrote in Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:41 pm:"Network is unreachable" usually means port blocked for me. If you managed this before and can't now then something is different. Did you re-install or update packages, etc ?
/etc/services says git uses port 9418 tcp/udp, I've never had to open that port but my interface is trusted.
What happened when you pinged the address for git ? ( terminal session: ping 42.2.0.192 )

Code: Select all
greg@greg-desktop:~$ ping 42.2.0.192
PING 42.2.0.192 (42.2.0.192) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=1 ttl=51 time=369 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=2 ttl=51 time=368 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=3 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=4 ttl=51 time=369 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=5 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=6 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=7 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=8 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=9 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=10 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=11 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=12 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=13 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=14 ttl=51 time=368 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=15 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=16 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=17 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=18 ttl=51 time=368 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=19 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=20 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=21 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=22 ttl=51 time=368 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=23 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=24 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=25 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=26 ttl=51 time=366 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=27 ttl=51 time=368 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=28 ttl=51 time=367 ms
64 bytes from 42.2.0.192: icmp_req=29 ttl=51 time=366 ms

[1]+  Stopped                 ping 42.2.0.192
greg@greg-desktop:~$

It pings alright except a bit of lag
I did an update of the packages. I used this command:
sh download_and_compile.sh -s ALL -j 6
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:24 pm

Well pinging 42.2.0.192 was working but I tried it two more times after, it does not ping now.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:14 am

I just tried pinging again and it works at this time but simgear cloning stil times out when I try do build FlightGear.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:05 am

Anyone have any answers?
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:08 am

I think I found a solution. Instead of pinging 42.2.0.192, I tried this: ping gitorious.org. This gave me a different domain address:
Code: Select all
greg@greg-desktop:~$ ping gitorious.org
PING gitorious.org (87.238.52.168) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=1 ttl=40 time=386 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=2 ttl=40 time=407 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=3 ttl=40 time=394 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=4 ttl=40 time=390 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=5 ttl=40 time=395 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=6 ttl=40 time=390 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=7 ttl=40 time=378 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=8 ttl=40 time=391 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=9 ttl=40 time=382 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=10 ttl=40 time=394 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=11 ttl=40 time=401 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=12 ttl=40 time=385 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=13 ttl=40 time=387 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=14 ttl=40 time=385 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=15 ttl=40 time=398 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=16 ttl=40 time=397 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=17 ttl=40 time=378 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=18 ttl=40 time=396 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=19 ttl=40 time=401 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=20 ttl=40 time=396 ms
64 bytes from gitorious.org (87.238.52.168): icmp_req=21 ttl=40 time=383 ms
Terminated

I replaced this into download_and_compile.sh; the part concerned with Simgear.
Code: Select all
SIMGEAR_INSTALL_DIR=simgear
INSTALL_DIR_SIMGEAR=$INSTALL_DIR/$SIMGEAR_INSTALL_DIR
cd "$CBD"

if [ ! -d "simgear" ]
then
   mkdir "simgear"
fi

if [ "$WHATTOBUILD" = "" -o "$WHATTOBUILD" = "SIMGEAR" -o "$WHATTOBUILD" = "ALL" ]
then
   echo "****************************************" | tee -a $LOGFILE
   echo "**************** SIMGEAR ***************" | tee -a $LOGFILE
   echo "****************************************" | tee -a $LOGFILE


   if [ "$DOWNLOAD" = "y" ]
   then
      cd simgear
      #echo -n "CVS FROM cvs.simgear.org:/var/cvs/SimGear-0.3 ... " >> $LOGFILE
      #cvs -z5 -d :pserver:cvsguest:guest@cvs.simgear.org:/var/cvs/SimGear-0.3 login
      #cvs -z5 -d :pserver:cvsguest@cvs.simgear.org:/var/cvs/SimGear-0.3 co source


      echo -n "git FROM git://87.238.52.168/fg/simgear.git ... " >> $LOGFILE

      if [ -d "simgear" ]
      then
         echo "simgear exists already."
      else
         git clone git://87.238.52.168/fg/simgear.git
      fi

      cd simgear

After that Simgear was cloned into its folder. Before I tried that solution I tried the domain address 42.2.0.192 replacement in download_and_compile.sh but it came back with the same timeout error as before.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:41 am

Although I solved the problem to clone Simgear all the components after it did not. I had to also replace gitorious.org for them as well, to clone them locally.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04

Re: Timeout Cloning Simgear

Postby cebif » Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:41 am

This is only a partial solution. I can only clone flightgear related applications this way. If I try to update flightgear from components that already exist, I still get a timeout. When deleting the flightgear related programs: SIMGEAR, FGFS, DATA, FGRUN, FGO, FGCOM, FGCONGUI, ATLAS; I still get the timeout if I have not replaced gitorious.org with 87.238.52.16, in download_and_compile.sh.
The first two components: PLIB, OSG, clone alright without doing anything to download_and_compile.sh. I think they also update as well but would not update PLIB when I tried before. It was not a timeout it was an make file error, probably because it was last updated in April.
cebif
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:59 am
Callsign: leadal
Version: 2.8.0
OS: Ubuntu 12.04


Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest