Board index FlightGear Support Compiling

Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Building FlightGear from source, and in the need for help?

Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:31 pm

Due to the planned migration to the CMake build system, I have started work on documenting the required steps to build FlightGear and its dependencies using NetBeans 7.0.

NetBeans is a multi-platform IDE, so this howto should be applicable to both, Linux and Windows users, and probably also Mac users.

You can find the article here: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:_Build ... sing_CMake

This is currently work in progress, so if you find anything missing, feel free to either improve the article directly or raise any questions/issues you may encounter here. I tried to add a bunch of screen shots to make it more intuitive.

Finally, it took me about 20-30 minutes to set everything up in NetBeans, and I ended up with a working build environment pretty quickly. So CMake seems to work fairly well. On the other hand, I do not currently have access to computers with Windows or MacOS, so any help in adjusting and updating this article as required will obviously be appreciated.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby zakalawe » Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:55 pm

Nice work! I'm a little surprised NetBeans lacks 'native' knowledge of Cmake, to ease the build step, but otherwise it all looks very easy.
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1259
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:59 pm

zakalawe wrote in Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:55 pm:Nice work! I'm a little surprised NetBeans lacks 'native' knowledge of Cmake, to ease the build step, but otherwise it all looks very easy.


I guess you mean "cmake recognition" here, right?

Actually, CMake is fairly well supported meanwhile. I have contacted a number of people who asked me in the past how to build FG, and asked them now to try the steps outlined there.

Like I said, it took me about 30 minutes from start to finish, including the checkouts - but that's on a pretty fast box with a decent internet connection. And I cannot currently check this on non Linux/Unix systems unfortunately, so some feedback/contributions from people with different OS would indeed be appreciated.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Sealbhach » Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:28 pm

Cool, I always thought of compiling as a command line thing. Could you include a little section on keeping it updated to the latest in git?

.
Sealbhach
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:17 am

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:36 pm

Sealbhach wrote in Wed Oct 19, 2011 7:28 pm:Cool, I always thought of compiling as a command line thing. Could you include a little section on keeping it updated to the latest in git?.


Staying "up to date" is actually fairly easy once everything is set up, you only need to right click on each project/dependency and go to the SCM sub menu (i.e. "Git" for FlightGear/SimGear and "Subversion" for OSG) and then click on "pull" or "update" accordingly.
I have added this to the wiki, thanks for your feedback: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:_Build ... up_to_date
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Ouacaze » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:48 pm

Hi,

I tried to follow your article, but the FG cmake script ends with:
Code: Select all
-- Performing Test SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK
-- Performing Test SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK - Failed
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:91 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find SimGear (missing: SIMGEAR_INCLUDE_DIR SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK)
  (Required is at least version "2.4.0")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:252 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  CMakeModules/FindSimGear.cmake:188 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:134 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

CMAKE FAILED (exit value 1, total time: 2s)


I tried different options but didn't manage to make him find Simgear.
What did I do wrong ?
Ouacaze
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:03 pm
Location: Toulouse

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Wed Dec 28, 2011 12:17 am

Well, the error message seems to be pretty clear about it: You didn't build and install SimGear apparently?
Note that you should follow the build order I suggested, in order to satisfy all dependencies.

SimGear needs to be built AND installed prior to FG!
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby pac1 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:34 am

I need a few more specifics on how to install the items built.

Under Netbeans, where do the following get installed?

OSG
Plib
simgear

What steps are needed after a build to do the install for each piece?
pac1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:16 am
Callsign: pac1
OS: Agnostic

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:34 pm

Sorry for not getting back to this earlier - I replied to your questions (see the wiki).
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Barambu2sa » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:05 pm

Ouacaze wrote in Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:48 pm:Hi,

I tried to follow your article, but the FG cmake script ends with:
Code: Select all
-- Performing Test SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK
-- Performing Test SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK - Failed
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:91 (MESSAGE):
  Could NOT find SimGear (missing: SIMGEAR_INCLUDE_DIR SIMGEAR_VERSION_OK)
  (Required is at least version "2.4.0")
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:252 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  CMakeModules/FindSimGear.cmake:188 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:134 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

CMAKE FAILED (exit value 1, total time: 2s)

Same problem today with last git!
:(


I tried different options but didn't manage to make him find Simgear.
What did I do wrong ?
Barambu2sa
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:49 pm

Re: Howto: Build FlightGear in NetBeans using CMake

Postby Hooray » Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:18 pm

Sorry, I just noticed this - I tend to answer using the wiki, so I didn't see the new question, to which the answer is: You need to install SimGear in order to enable FG to find it.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU


Return to Compiling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest