Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

World Scenery: how much GB?

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby DistantRain » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:35 am

Would any one know how much GB of scenery Flightgear occupies after they're uncompressed? If the compressed sceneries are around 12.5 GB [1], I'd imagine it'll be much more greater than that. He could be talking about multiple scenery trees though, from my navigation into the ftp and not just a single scenery tree. But then again, from what he wrote, it sounds like it's singular so I assume it's a scenery tree instead of multiple trees.

[1] http://www.mail-archive.com/flightgear- ... 28039.html
I am a proud head CEO of Distantrain. Founder, and Co-producer of Distantrain.
Senior Commander in Chief
Please PM him with any questions regarding Distantrain.
DistantRain
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:53 am
Callsign: Distantrain
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo

Re: World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby Gijs » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:10 am

I don't know the exact size of the scenery, but I do know that no-one needs the entire planet! An awesome tool is TerraSync, which only downloads scenery tiles for the places that you actually visit in FlightGear. So you would end up with the minimum amount of scenery that you need, and no more than that. There is absolutely no reason to download the entire world scenery (atleast not that I am aware of).

You can ignore my post, if you are just wondering what filesize the whole package is.

Cheers,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9306
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby DistantRain » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:14 pm

Hey Gijs,

I'm aware of TerraSync, and I am running them since yesterday. But I am curious how much GB of space the scenery tree occupies uncompressed. I have read somewhere in the forum here how it might occupy 40GB or more, but I lost my sources in that. I would have asked this question in the mailing list but I don't have a working app for it currently and I'm replacing my computer very soon.
I am a proud head CEO of Distantrain. Founder, and Co-producer of Distantrain.
Senior Commander in Chief
Please PM him with any questions regarding Distantrain.
DistantRain
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 5:53 am
Callsign: Distantrain
Version: GIT
OS: Gentoo

Re: World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby MAKG » Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:34 pm

Gijs wrote:So you would end up with the minimum amount of scenery that you need, and no more than that.

I'd dispute that "no more" part. TerraSync doesn't expire old data. Once you have it, you have it forever. Even if you went there once in 2008 and haven't been back.
MAKG
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:11 pm
Location: California Central Coast

Re: World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby Gijs » Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:22 pm

MAKG, you got me on that one ;)
But still, it is a minimum compared to the entire globe...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9306
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: World Scenery: how much GB?

Postby chris_blues » Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:48 pm

I'm seeding a version of 4 DVD's containing the world data. These make 15.2 GiB. But I'm not sure how old the data is... But it's good for those, who have no internet-connection...
Don't hesitate to let me know if I'm incorrect or just annoying! As long as you do it gently! :)
Debian testing 64bit - Athlon II 2x2.6GHz - 8GB RAM - GeForce GTS 450
Citation II
User avatar
chris_blues
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 1:30 pm
Location: claws of real life
Callsign: chris_blues
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 8 64


Return to The FlightGear project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest