Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

FlightGear documentation, core and other

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

FlightGear documentation, core and other

Postby simongi » Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:49 pm

Split off from the topic Want to help contribute? Training provided.

Hi I'm Simon,

I'm an aircraft developer working on the old de Havilland Vampire model the StuartC and Boffo made.

Sorry to dig up an old thread but its the closest to what I wanted to say.

I have managed to extend the DH Vampire model to have some uv mapping and a full instrumentation panel in accordance with the RAF pilot notes for the Vampire F3.

My experience of the FlightGear project is one of mostly awe and fun tinged with a quite a bit of confusion.

I have been able to create a dream and fly it, fix the navigation so I can role play being a pilot in the 1950s cold war. Thank you FG developers and Stuarts team for making this relatively easy.

I wanted to reiterate the statements here about documentation. I hope to offer these comments with more detail about what a new user goes through and its not meant as a negative criticism (The achievement of one of the best Open Source games is evidence enough that FlightGear is powerful and impressive).

So the good stuff TLDR is
* Realtime fast game engine
* Amazing array of aircraft and instruments that can be used: Spaceshuttle, Jets, Prop planes just incredible.
* Geospatial base for creating scenery using PostGIS (nice!)
* Good rendering engines capable of atmospheric effects.
* Some nice rigorous standards- Use of XML, C++ code base, Nasal close to ECMAscript (code highlighting support)

After being involved with Blender for 6 years and seeing it grow from being very inaccessible to the best 3D tool today. I feel sure FlightGear could do the same thing if it had good core documentation. (Mostly lacking is standard API docs).