Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

Interesting questions.

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

Interesting questions.

Postby IceBreaker » Sun Feb 24, 2019 12:59 am

Hi everyone! My name is Stefano, I am 42 years old, and I work as an independent developer (mainly 3d modeling of simple objects in the field of 3d printing, and advertising graphics).

I'm a big fan of flight simulation for many years, as well as a modder who previously made content for commercial simulators.

I would like to know some aspects of the Flightgear project that would be very useful for the creation of new content by users like myself who want to join the developer community.

Here are some direct questions, so it will be easier for you and me to understand the right way to go for my future projects:

1. I noticed that FG uses the .ac3d format for 3d models, I have never used this 3d modeling software, even if it is very valid (from what I could read and experiment). I have experience with Blender, and with the next release (2.80) it will be really fantastic to model objects for FG. Is there a script for Blender that allows you to import ac3d models in blender in an optimal way? or do you recommend a more up-to-date solution or a development for the future?

2. To create new 3D objects in the category buildings, vehicles, general objects of the scenario, what references do you recommend? example: in Blender I use the default cube, I render the faces of the cube and make it invisible by modifying the size (scale), I realize the 3d model inside the cube of reference? is a trick I used in the past for another open-source project, so I immediately thought of this simple solution to create 3D objects with the right proportion. I can not find specific information, the wiki is only partially updated, or it's my fault that I read only a small part (it's very large and fragmented).