Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

Using the Wiki

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

Using the Wiki

Postby jgaboo » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:10 pm

When I go to the Wiki page, I'm expecting to see a table of contents. Is the one? Or do I just keep searching to topics of interest? Especially interested in FlightGear explicit XML coding info. I'm no XML expert but there must be some rules about format, format of information, categories of information, etc.
jgaboo

Re: Using the Wiki

Postby Catalanoic » Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:45 pm

Are you refering about wiki format? I don't know but assuming Wikipedia standars is a good practice
Catalanoic

Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3

Postby sanhozay » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:06 pm

Are you using a tablet or other mobile device? If so, the contents may be listed on an icon that has horizontal lines on it.
sanhozay

Callsign: G-SHOZ
Version: Git

Postby elgaton » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:08 pm

jgaboo, hi and welcome to the forum!

There is a Manual of style that gives some guidelines about how to structure articles; it is, however, still in the process of being written, and many pages do not follow the proposed format (yet).

Regarding the organization of topics in the wiki, there's no written rule; they are just organized hierarchically into categories (see here for a complete list).

I'm not fully sure about what you mean with "XML coding info" - perhaps you are referring to the markup used to write articles? If so, an online help is available in the wiki from the edit page (just click on "Help" in the edit toolbar).
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton

Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git

Postby Johan G » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:59 pm

elgaton wrote in Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:08 pm:I'm not fully sure about what you mean with "XML coding info" - perhaps you are referring to the markup used to write articles?