Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

New Website?

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

New Website?

Postby Noah » Fri May 09, 2014 3:30 am

Hi! As a relatively new user to FlightGear, first off, it's amazing software. Sadly, I do not feel this is reflected on FlightGear's website, flightgear.org. I am wondering if there are any plans to create a custom theme or possibly even use a open source WP theme to replace the current default one?

Currently the site feels very "old" and originally lead me to believe the project had gone stale a long time ago. I know now this is not the case, but if we wish to attract more new users to FG, I feel one of the biggest steps we can take would be to revamp the current site and make it much simpler.

I am a web developer and would possibly be willing to help create/fully create a new theme if there is any interest in doing such an upgrade. Don't get me wrong: The content on the website is great, but the way it's currently displayed does the project no justice. Also, if you're a web developer/designer, feel free to drop me a PM.

If you're also agree that it's time to do some spring cleaning on the site, feel free to reply with some of your suggestions. Of course, I wouldn't start without the approval of a administrator and the support of a few users. Thanks for your time!
- Noah Buscher
Noah

Callsign: Noah
Version: 3.0.0

Re: New Website?

Postby Hooray » Fri May 09, 2014 8:13 am