Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

Contributing to FlightGear  Topic is solved

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

Contributing to FlightGear

Postby ajaymittur28 » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:13 pm

HI Guys,
Ajay here. i have been playing flightgear for nearly 3 years now and currently 14 years old. i have been very keen in helping the flightgear developers but don't know any programming or anything, so is there anyway i could contribute to the flightgear project?

-Ajay
ajaymittur28

Re: Contributing to FlightGear

Postby Johan G » Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:39 pm

There are many ways to contribute. The programming is only one of them. :D

These are just some of the ways to contribute, without programming:
  • Helping other users on the forum
  • Giving detailed bug reports
  • 3D modelling
  • Testing aircraft in development (and one can consider that none of them are finished ;) ), if possible comparing results against a pilots operating handbook (POH) or flight manual (FM)
  • Helping with the wiki in one way or another

There are also some easier programming not involving the FlightGear code itself, but the aircraft:
  • Adding systems functionality, animations etc. in property xml files (not really programming per see)
  • Adding systems and functionality through nasal code (much easier than C++, but not without pitfalls for inexperienced programmers)

You can expect some other answers here, as well as people trying to "lure" you into learning new stuff. :wink: With enough time and patience, you can acquire a lot of skills here that you might have use for elsewhere later.

Let's put your curiosity to use and find out what you feel for to expand on that. :D
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G

Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0