Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

Wiki issue: source code doesn't need paragraphs!

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

Wiki issue: source code doesn't need paragraphs!

Postby Philosopher » Tue May 07, 2013 4:00 pm

I've noticed several times -- most recently with Thomas' locked-track animation -- that code indentation is really screwed up. Now I know that Thomas formats his code nicely, and given by where I've seen it, it's an issue with the code display. In fact, I've noticed that the code is usually indented two spaces after a blank line -- and what is a blank line but a signal for a new paragraph? Thus I have come to the conclusion that code on the wiki is put into paragraphs and indented that way :lol: (but not the first line, as per standard typographical convention). Are there any ideas/plans to fix this? Looking quickly I didn't see a relevant bug report on GeSHI's sourceforge tracker...
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Wiki issue: source code doesn't need paragraphs!

Postby Gijs » Tue May 07, 2013 4:06 pm

Just surround your code like this;
Code: Select all
<syntaxhighlight lang="xml">
<binding>
  <command>property-interpolate</command>
  <property>/controls/flight/aileron-trim</property>
  <value type="double">0</value>
  <rate>0.5</rate><!-- 2 seconds to 0 from 1 or -1 -->
</binding>
</syntaxhighlight>

That has the added advantage that it adds some nice colours ;-)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9357
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Wiki issue: source code doesn't need paragraphs!

Postby Philosopher » Tue May 07, 2013 4:11 pm

But that's what he did: http://wiki.flightgear.org/index.php?ti ... ction=edit ! And regular text isn't indented at new paragraphs (source: List of Nasal Extension Functions).
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: Wiki issue: source code doesn't need paragraphs!

Postby Gijs » Tue May 07, 2013 4:55 pm

Could you post a screenshot highlighting the issue? It may be something browser specific that I'm not seeing...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9357
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10


Return to The FlightGear project

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest