Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project

Some pointers

Questions about the FlightGear organisation, website, wiki etc.

Some pointers

Postby astracrazy » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:04 pm

Hi

I'm new to Flightgear and I'm most likely going to download it, although i just got some questions to ask. I used to play FS a lot but now i have a mac, this seems the safest option. I'm not convinced FSX would work well on it (been caught out with this on other games!) so won't buy that!

I just have a few questions to ask about FlightGear

Does Flightgear have ATC like FS does?
Does Flightgear have AI aircraft? I also remember there was a website where you could download real flight plans for companies like British Airways, Virgin etc etc so there planes would fly around giving you that real world feel. Is there any addon's like this?

Thanks for your help, I am just trying to find out whats available for Flightgear compared to FS.

Luke
astracrazy

Re: Some pointers

Postby Hooray » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:25 pm

1) no, but it's work in progress - and people can add custom scripted extensions
2) yes, see the AI forum

If you are used to FSX, you may also want to look into X-Plane ... while it's not free, it's a pretty good piece of software actually. Especially, if you are primarily a user, and not interested in the lower level (technical) aspects of the simulator.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray

Postby HHS » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:30 pm

Hooray wrote:If you are used to FSX, you may also want to look into X-Plane ... while it's not free, it's a pretty good piece of software actually. Especially, if you are primarily a user, and not interested in the lower level (technical) aspects of the simulator.