Board index FlightGear Support Flying Helicopter

Helicopters wobbly

Helicopter flying is completely different from flying a fixed-wing aircraft and thus requires different skills.

Helicopters wobbly

Postby Flyboy » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:53 am

I'm having problems with a couple of the helicopters... to start off, I'm new to helicopters, which means that I'm not at all smooth on the take offs, etc. but I can control them. Except for one problem. The EC135 and BO105 will on occasion start uncontrollably wobbling in all directions. When this happens, I have to push the stick full to the left to keep the heli somewhat level, and I also have to give a hard twist on the stick to keep it from spinning. When this happens I also seem to lose lift. Sometimes it happens when I've been airborn for some time, and sometimes it happens as soon as I lift off. It will usually stop after half a minute or so. I'm running Flight Gear v2.0 on Fedora 13. Any chance this could be a bug, or am I doing something wrong? It hasn't been a problem with the Sikorsky 76C++.
Flyboy

Re: Helicopters wobbly

Postby redneck » Tue Jul 06, 2010 4:10 am

The Sikorsky 76C++ is easily the EASIEST heli to fly to an unrealistic extent. Now, the Bo105 and ec135 are very realistic, so I attribute your problem to pilot error. I'm probably not the best person to try to teach you how to fly a heli (Hint hint HHS and Groucho ;)), but from what I've read, and from my experience, you must make VERY gentle changes in control input to keep them stable. OH! How fast are you flying. If you fly too fast the heli will roll and pitch uncontrollably. I think it is to simulate the structural damage you are about to cause, which isn't actually simulated (yet?).