Board index FlightGear Support Flying Helicopter

Pre-recorded flights

Helicopter flying is completely different from flying a fixed-wing aircraft and thus requires different skills.

Pre-recorded flights

Postby danividanivi » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:09 pm

Hello,

I am new to FlightGear and working in a project to connect it with an external software.
I had success in the connection part, but now I need to flight an helicopter and it is really difficult (specially without a joystick).

Could anyone provide me with pre-recorded helicopter flights?
Any flight would be appreciated, but ideally I want a slow speed and short one, take off, go to a couple of waypoints and come back home.
(The idea is to replicate it later with a multicopter in Gazebo).

Thank you very much for your help and for creating such an amazing simulator.
danividanivi

Re: Pre-recorded flights

Postby Clive2670 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 7:25 pm

Well may I say welcome to the world of Flightgear, I hope you find it as enjoyable as I have for the past few years! Have you thought about looking at Youtube, as there are several users on there that put up videos, also there are Flightgear dedicated channels as well. This may help you in your quest to help with your flying!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
Clive2670

Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1

Postby wlbragg » Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:20 pm

Hi danividanivi and welcome,

Actually it is not difficult to fly some (at least one that I know of) helicopters without a joystick.
Try the AirCrane in fgaddon. I have been flying it with only a mouse and it is actually easy once you practice for a short period of time.

Hints would be to turn down the sensitivity, use power sparingly and minimal or subtle mouse control.