Board index FlightGear Support Flying Autopilot

Autopilot general

Using the autopilot is an important thing when flying airliners.

Autopilot general

Postby Frieder » Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:07 pm

Hi there!
I'm a beginner in FlightGear and I mostly finish to take off the plane. But then I try to activate the Autopilot. For example I got information via YouTube about the MD-11F. I downloaded that plane and started from Hannover Airport (EDDV), because I live near Hannover. I reached the runway and successfffully took off. From the video I knew the key to turn on the Autopilot. The route was already shown in the display. Then I clicked this key. But first nothing happened. No sound, no steering, nothing. Then the plane steered left. First I thought, it was the Autopilot which did that. But suddenly the angle went greater and greater and the curve became smaller. The plane turned more left than the route would afford. Then I heared: "Bank angle! Bank angle!" The plane started falling - and then the plane crashed.
I had such things with very many kinds of planes. I also tried the generic autopilot, also nothhing happened. Switching on the autopilot isn't included in a tutorial. Planning the route also not. So please answer the following questions for me:

1. I don't know right, how to plan route (setting and moving waypoints) and how can I use the Generic Autopilot? From the instruction I read that there is a generic autopilot, which works even with those planes, which don't have one normally. How can I plan the route for this one? The Autopilot menu then is faded off (for example in the Cessna 172P, which is installed within the program).
2. What are the conditions to activate the autopilot? How can I activate it?
3. What do I have to do, that the auto-flight proceedes correctly? What doesn't the Autopilot do?
4. The same questions for the automatic landing system.