Board index FlightGear Support Flying Autopilot

Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Using the autopilot is an important thing when flying airliners.

Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby DuaneBarry » Thu Aug 18, 2022 4:55 pm

Hello.
With the above autopilot on the C172 and C182S i would like to follow the following flight plan https://flightplandatabase.com/plan/5534778.
I also checked the following page https://wiki.flightgear.org/Bendix/King ... _Autopilot but i can't figure out how to use it.
Can anyone help me or direct me to more information?
Thank you.
DuaneBarry
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 5:54 pm
Location: Modena - Italy
Version: 2020.3.13
OS: Windows 10

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 18, 2022 6:42 pm

What specifically don't you know how to use? If your looking for a way to plug in a flight plan to the KAP140, I don't think it works that way. I think at best it will intercept one altitude or Nav at at a time and you use it that way. I could be wrong, but I don't see the needed options to do that. It's functions appear to be well covered in the link you pointed to. So is there something specific you want to know?
Last edited by wlbragg on Thu Aug 18, 2022 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby polly » Thu Aug 18, 2022 7:22 pm

If memory serves, I've used the F10 - Eqipment - GPS and checked 'Slave NAV to GPS'
Then, using F10-Autopilot-Route Manager a gpx file may be loaded from your $HOME/.fgfs/Export folder,
once the route is activated and the A/P set to NAV1, I think it ought to work for you.
The gpx routes are most easily created using skyvector.com; here's a rough and ready Southbound route from LIPB, it's best to get the A/P stabilized at altitude with nearly the right heading first.

$HOME/.fgfs/Export/LIEO.gpx:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<gpx xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" creator="SkyVector" version="1.1" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/1/gpx.xsd">
  <rte>
    <name>LIPB-LIEO</name>
    <rtept lat="46.460278" lon="11.326389">
      <name>LIPB</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="45.120278" lon="10.770556">
      <name>OSMEB</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="43.835278" lon="10.283333">
      <name>EMBOS</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="42.363889" lon="10.258056">
      <name>NEMIT</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="41.212778" lon="10.156389">
      <name>BATOX</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="41.075111" lon="9.840064">
      <name>D053S</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="41.032778" lon="9.772778">
      <name>MILIS</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>
    <rtept lat="40.898611" lon="9.517778">
      <name>LIEO</name>
      <overfly>false</overfly>
    </rtept>

  </rte>
</gpx>



Edit: I found these, particularly grab the refernce card:
http://www.bitwisetech.com/fgfs/KAP140_Autopilot_Quick_Reference_Card.pdf
http://www.bitwisetech.com/fgfs/KAP_140_Autopilot.pdf
http://www.bitwisetech.com/fgfs/KAP140-Gde-006-18034-0000_3.pdf
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 18, 2022 8:10 pm

Didn't know you could do that. Is this an FG thing or is this possible with a real KAP140 and some kind of GPS equipment?
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 18, 2022 8:13 pm

In essence the NAV radio is bypassed and the autopilots nav function is now following the GPS route?
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 18, 2022 8:15 pm

Your instructions were spot on, other than maybe having to activate the route once it is loaded? Also my FG crashed the first time I tried it.
Kansas and Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA, 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6531
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Flightplan with Bendix/King KAP140

Postby polly » Thu Aug 18, 2022 8:27 pm

Yes, Flightgear only, I think from before we had authentically modelled A/Ps and GPS's ; pretty certain I'd tried it with the c172p a while back and it seemed to work just now.

'Activate' : The skyvector route came up with the departure airport which looks highlighted ( activatted ? )
when I start up but, yes, i normally select a waypoint further down the line to activate so I have time to use the lined baggies and get the A/P going.
User avatar
polly
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:45 pm


Return to Autopilot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest