Board index FlightGear Support Flying Autopilot

A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Using the autopilot is an important thing when flying airliners.

A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby Sbyx » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:57 pm

I was on a flight from KMIA to TNCM and everything was going fine until after I descended and reached about 3000 feet and i was doing fine on a VOR approach into TNCM, but when I tried to switch off the autopilot or change any values, firstly the autopilot didn't disengage and secondly, the plane started to pitch up like crazy until it stalled and crashed into the waters near TNCM. I had absolutely no control of the plane, the autopilot just did its own thing. This actually also happened before on a flight from KOAK to CYYJ, when I tried to change a value the autopilot broke again and would not disengage, so I shut down the plane completely and restarted it and that fixed it. However on the KMIA to TNCM flight it didn't work. Does anyone know why the A330-243's autopilot is so bizarre?
Sbyx
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:06 am
Callsign: Sbyx
Version: 2.12
OS: Windows 7

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby omega95 » Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:00 pm

1. Did you program the mCDU the way it's programmed in - http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL90DBF40F5F631DC2?
2. If the AP fails to respond to what you do in the cockpit FCU, it probably means that a nasal error occured, so can you please post a command line log of what happened?
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby Sbyx » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:46 am

omega95 wrote in Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:00 pm:1. Did you program the mCDU the way it's programmed in - http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL90DBF40F5F631DC2?
2. If the AP fails to respond to what you do in the cockpit FCU, it probably means that a nasal error occured, so can you please post a command line log of what happened?


My mCDU was programmed correctly like it is in the video. How would I get that command line log(I have a Mac OS X Lion)?
Sbyx
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:06 am
Callsign: Sbyx
Version: 2.12
OS: Windows 7

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby Philosopher » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:50 am

First tab of the launcher -- "view log" button. It comes in handy when developing and error checking ;).
Thanks,
Philosopher
(inactive but lurking occasionally...)
Philosopher
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:29 pm
Location: Stuck in my head...
Callsign: AFTI
Version: Git
OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby Sbyx » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:56 am

Philosopher wrote in Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:50 am:First tab of the launcher -- "view log" button. It comes in handy when developing and error checking ;).

Thank you, I will get it to do the autopilot thing and then I will paste the log.
Sbyx
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:06 am
Callsign: Sbyx
Version: 2.12
OS: Windows 7

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby xxx-246 » Fri May 26, 2017 9:08 pm

Hallo,

I have had a similar issue two times now that the autopilot dies completely and even disengaging doesn't release the controlls. Then I found this thread.
I will do further flights and then try to get the logs.

Regards
xxx-246
xxx-246
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby sp-lcz » Fri May 26, 2017 9:26 pm

Dear xxx-246,
from time to time I have similar problem with A320neo / A330-2xx / A330-3xx, I have learned to live with it :) Always on the beginning during manual start-up of the aircraft I am checking A/P - button working with green color or not, if not = restart FG, if button change color to green, it means ok :D
But of course if you could to add some logs and somebody can help, great!

Best,
Lukasz
User avatar
sp-lcz
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:42 pm
Location: EPWA
Callsign: SP-LCZ
Version: 17.3.1
OS: Windows 8.1

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby it0uchpods » Sat May 27, 2017 1:59 am

@xxx-246
@sp-lcz

Wait for the artix A330-200 to release. They already solved this bug :)

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Location: A far corner of my room.
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
IRC name: it0uchpods
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows Vista x64

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby xxx-246 » Sat May 27, 2017 8:51 am

Hello,

sp-lcz wrote in Fri May 26, 2017 9:26 pm:Dear xxx-246,
Always on the beginning during manual start-up of the aircraft I am checking A/P - button working with green color or not, if not = restart FG, if button change color to green, it means ok :D

That doesn't work for me, because of the AP operates fine in the beginning and all is ok (even the Leds). After some time (and some VOR frequency changes) it totally crashed and even blocks my controls, which is the worst what can happen -- theres no way for me to get back the control over the airplane.

Anyway -- I watched the last logfile and found tons of this entries (approx. 150 lines of that between two real entries):
Code: Select all
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:storms update requested! (timer issue when closing the dialog?)

As far as I can see this messages were generated even on the beginning of the flight, so I don't know if that is the (or a) problem.
It could have been caused by myself, because I was switching from Basic weather to Advanced weather and back to solve another bug: The plane starts hopping on the ground while being parked :S
The weather switching seems to influence that hopping.

Another bug caused the current active WP to be one of the last (and I programmed the route with the flight computer, not with the GUI.
Code: Select all
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1141:Nasal runtime error: non-objects have no members
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1147:  at /usr/share/games/flightgear/Nasal/route_manager.nas, line 176
autopilot:3:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Autopilot/route_mgr.cxx:797:route manager, current-wp is now 0
instruments:3:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Instrumentation/gps.cxx:395:GPS::route activated, switching to LEG mode
autopilot:3:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Autopilot/route_mgr.cxx:765:route-manager, activate route ok
autopilot:3:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Autopilot/route_mgr.cxx:797:route manager, current-wp is now 6
instruments:3:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Instrumentation/gps.cxx:395:GPS::route activated, switching to LEG mode


At last here is an output from lines which contains the word error:
Code: Select all
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: parsexml(): file '/home/christian/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft/A330-200/Database/Procedures/EDDF.xml' Failed
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: /home/christian/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft/A330-200/Nasal/procedures/fmsDB.nas
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: 292
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1141:Nasal runtime error: vector index 1 out of bounds (size: 1)
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: parsexml(): file '/home/christian/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft/A330-200/Database/Procedures/EDDF.xml' Failed
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: /home/christian/.fgfs/Aircraft/org.flightgear.fgaddon/Aircraft/A330-200/Nasal/procedures/fmsDB.nas
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:427:[FMS] error: 292
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1141:Nasal runtime error: non-objects have no members
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1141:Nasal runtime error: unterminated index (looking for ']')
nasal:5:/build/flightgear-4YrQJ1/flightgear-2016.4.4+dfsg/src/Scripting/NasalSys.cxx:1141:Nasal runtime error: unterminated index (looking for ']')

I believe the Nasal runtime error messages are the worst things that could happen.

See the complete log file here: https://flightgear-246.de/logs/fgfs.log

Wait for the artix A330-200 to release. They already solved this bug :)

That's nice, but is there a patch for the existing plane models? Those A320/A330, ... are one of the most detailed models that I know and it would be a real shame if everyone has to stop flying that because of that annoying bug :?

Regards
xxx-246
xxx-246
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby it0uchpods » Sat May 27, 2017 11:40 am

No. The A320neo and A330 have been abandoned for years. I'd fix it for you, but I'm busy enough with my own A320 at the moment.

Kind Regards,
Josh
it0uchpods/WTF411

FlightGear Aircraft Developer
Lead Programmer at the it0uchpods Design Group
Download High Quality Aircraft from it0uchpods Hangar
User avatar
it0uchpods
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Location: A far corner of my room.
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
IRC name: it0uchpods
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows Vista x64

Re: A330-243 Autopilot Problems

Postby TICO » Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:56 am

Hello everyone, I want to share commercial routes or flight plans that I am using; these flight plans contain fixes that in flightgear database; in the departures (SID) as in the arrivals (STAR) are outdated
These flight plans are used by pilots of the different commercial airlines of the world.

Thank you,

TICO

https://mega.nz/#!WhYjyZ7Y

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rcw34jc3i1bfa ... S.rar?dl=0
TICO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:13 am
Location: COLOMBIA
Callsign: TICO
Version: 3.2.0


Return to Autopilot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests