Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

787 and CRJ-200 Development

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:22 am

I intend to have the cool stuff like autobrakes and special autopilot done after I have a good FDM and working basic systems. I'll put a special autopilot thing in once I put in the AP panel.

As for the FDM, I was pulling the approach speed down still. But I don't know a realistic stall speed-is it 120, or less? Once I finish the approach, I'll work on the cruising, and make sure that it doesn't mess up the approach.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Chrison » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:32 am

redneck wrote:You need to host your image at a file hosting site like Picasa or image shack, and then provide a link to the picture, not the album, with img tags.


I figured it out. Here's the image:

Image

The autopilot Altitude Hold setting is shown on the HUD on the upper left as "target alt" and the altitude according to the altimeter is shown on the lower right as "Altitude" just above the wind direction/speed indication. As you can see, the Alt Hold is set to 32,000 feet but, according to the altimeter, the aircraft is flying at 30,948 feet, a difference of 1,052 feet. Btw, the altitude is adjusted to 29.92 Hg.

Strange, eh?

Regards,

Chris
"Even if you win the rat race, you're still a rat!" (Jackie Gleason)
My final approach announcement: "Seats up... Trays locked... Articles stowed... Seat belts on... And may God have mercy on your souls!"
Chrison
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: North America (Full-time RV'er)
Callsign: Chrison, AVA0066

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Rick Ace » Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:14 pm

How'd you get all the information on the HUD? :D When I press H, I don't see that much.
Rick Ace
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: New York City
Callsign: rickace
Version: 2.6.0
OS: Vista

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby redneck » Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:32 pm

Yeah, strange. I can't figure out why it's doing that.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Rick Ace » Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:38 pm

Personally, many FG Aircrafts have done that to me. Usually off by 1,000ft. Mainly the 777.

I remember reading somewhere about the real world, that the AP becomes more accurate near the ground or something. I forgot.
Rick Ace
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: New York City
Callsign: rickace
Version: 2.6.0
OS: Vista

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby xsaint » Sun Oct 24, 2010 2:59 pm

For the Absolute and Relative ALT differences, please do read this http://www.flightlearnings.com/altimete ... meter/873/ ....it could be of help

cheers
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Chrison » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:01 pm

Rick Ace wrote:How'd you get all the information on the HUD? :D When I press H, I don't see that much.


That's a custom HUD originally done by D-HUND that I modified with a few additions of my own. It was originally intended for use when flying helicopters, but it's *great* for flying aircraft too. Using it, I usually fly in "helicopter view" and this HUD gives me all of the important info I need to keep aware of what's going on with the aircraft. If you'd like to try it, let me know and I'll make it available.

Regards,

Chris

P.S. Yes, the 777-200ER also seems to quite often display a huge difference. IIRC, the CRJ-200 auto pilot is based on the 777-200, so that could be why they both do this.
Last edited by Chrison on Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Even if you win the rat race, you're still a rat!" (Jackie Gleason)
My final approach announcement: "Seats up... Trays locked... Articles stowed... Seat belts on... And may God have mercy on your souls!"
Chrison
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: North America (Full-time RV'er)
Callsign: Chrison, AVA0066

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Chrison » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:05 pm

xsaint wrote:For the Absolute and Relative ALT differences, please do read this http://www.flightlearnings.com/altimete ... meter/873/ ....it could be of help

cheers


Yes, that gives alot of detail as to why there's differences, especially at higher altitudes. I knew that before, but wasn't expecting such a huge difference. I often see a difference of 100 to 200 ft, but a thousand?!?!

Oh, well... it's not that important... so long as one maintains a fairly large margin of error so one doesn't run into a mountain! ;)

Thanks!

Regards,

Chris
"Even if you win the rat race, you're still a rat!" (Jackie Gleason)
My final approach announcement: "Seats up... Trays locked... Articles stowed... Seat belts on... And may God have mercy on your souls!"
Chrison
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: North America (Full-time RV'er)
Callsign: Chrison, AVA0066

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby xsaint » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:09 pm

Diff of 1000 to 1500 is acceptable range based on the pressure calculations....
If i see a difference of say 5000 or more, then i know which way my plane is heading!! Mayday!


cheers
FlightGear Add Ons Can Be Be Downloaded From http://www.unitedfreeworld.com
Get Latest Updates Via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/unitedfreeworld
xsaint
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:59 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: xsaint
Version: 2.10
OS: Windows, Linux

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby redneck » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:11 pm

Yes, but if you set the alt hold to a value, then the AP should be reading the altimeter, not the true GPS altitude. That's what is totally baffling me about this. For me, the AP always gets the altimeter to read EXACTLY what I want. Not off by even 1 ft. But the true altitude is never off by more than a few hundred ft. Were there any changes in this between 1.9.1 and 2.0.0 or something?
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Chrison » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:20 pm

redneck wrote:Yes, but if you set the alt hold to a value, then the AP should be reading the altimeter, not the true GPS altitude. That's what is totally baffling me about this. For me, the AP always gets the altimeter to read EXACTLY what I want. Not off by even 1 ft. But the true altitude is never off by more than a few hundred ft. Were there any changes in this between 1.9.1 and 2.0.0 or something?


Just so there's no confusion, I was using 2.0.0 when I got this result. I can't remember if I've seen this while flying the CRJ-200 under 1.9.1 because I don't often do that (it doesn't fly all that well under the earlier version). I'll have to test this and see if it's also happening with the earlier version.

Regards,

Chris

EDIT: I tried it using FG 1.9.1 and the reading is fairly accurate... within 200 feet. Of course, this is just one test, so it's not definitive. Here's the image:

Image

Hmmm.... interesting!

Regards,

Chris
"Even if you win the rat race, you're still a rat!" (Jackie Gleason)
My final approach announcement: "Seats up... Trays locked... Articles stowed... Seat belts on... And may God have mercy on your souls!"
Chrison
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: North America (Full-time RV'er)
Callsign: Chrison, AVA0066

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby boeing 787-8 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:03 pm

Hello. I saw a small fail in the screens of the 787. In the real cockpit, there are 4 screens, but in FG, there are 5


FG

Image



Real


Image
I Don´t know where we will take all of this, but I assure you it will be fun. (Orville Wright, 1903).

Welcome to my blog! http://fgfsliveries.blogspot.com
User avatar
boeing 787-8
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Granada (LEGR) (Spain)
Callsign: EC-BOE
Version: 2
OS: Windows XP PRO SP3

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Gijs » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:20 pm

That is because FlightGear's 787 cockpit is a copy of the 777's ;)
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9393
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby redneck » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:22 pm

If you had been keeping up with the earlier topic, you would have known that the 787 cockpit in FG is basically a copy of the 777-200ER cockpit, and that Nick is working on ripping the cockpit apart to fix that.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby boeing 787-8 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm

Gijs wrote:That is because FlightGear's 787 cockpit is a copy of the 777's ;)


Mmmmmmm :roll: The 777 is the dad of the flightgear´s aircraft! :lol:
I Don´t know where we will take all of this, but I assure you it will be fun. (Orville Wright, 1903).

Welcome to my blog! http://fgfsliveries.blogspot.com
User avatar
boeing 787-8
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Granada (LEGR) (Spain)
Callsign: EC-BOE
Version: 2
OS: Windows XP PRO SP3

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 3 guests