Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

787 and CRJ-200 Development

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby kyokoyama » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:15 pm

Thank you! And the AP was flawless for me, too!
...however, there was a problem where the thrust reverser would not deploy after I press "delete", and after I somehow got it to do so, it would not retract...
What can I do to fix this?
Look for "B-BIRD" "N127KY" or "AVA0004" -that's me.

Despite having over 1700 posts here, I am not even close to being the most skilled guy here... I'm just words and bad drawing, not experience. :P
kyokoyama
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:16 am
Location: Earth
Callsign: B-BIRD, N127KY
Version: 2.12.1
OS: Windows Vista

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby skyop » Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:41 pm

Sounds like you're having issues with the reverse thrust script. AFAIK it only "works" when the throttles are at idle, and when you're on the ground (like in real life).

EDIT: Nick, about the 787, as you work on the cockpit the next thing on your todo list may be the electrical/engine systems. The electrical system doesn't seem to function properly at all (the APU, for instance, doesn't seem to work very well). And the engines could use some work; I don't think the 787 has an autostart button that magically controls the engines in real life. ;)

I also suggest implementing a proper autopilot, but to do anything really cool you've got to use the new features in Git, so you can hold off on that for a few months.

EDIT 2: Also, is it just me, or are the engines not consuming any fuel? :shock:
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:57 am

kyokoyama wrote in Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:15 pm:Thank you! And the AP was flawless for me, too!
...however, there was a problem where the thrust reverser would not deploy after I press "delete", and after I somehow got it to do so, it would not retract...
What can I do to fix this?

Throttle has to be at idle to toggle the reversers, in either way.

As for the 787, I've got plenty of time today to check stuff out. I'm pretty sure the engines consume fuel, I left Sydney at 80% and arrived at KSFO at around 5-6%.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby skyop » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:10 am

I noticed a suspicious nasal error in fuel.nas in my console. So it might be an installation-specific thing.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby kyokoyama » Fri Feb 18, 2011 1:11 am

The reverser works; thank you for that additional info!
Look for "B-BIRD" "N127KY" or "AVA0004" -that's me.

Despite having over 1700 posts here, I am not even close to being the most skilled guy here... I'm just words and bad drawing, not experience. :P
kyokoyama
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 2:16 am
Location: Earth
Callsign: B-BIRD, N127KY
Version: 2.12.1
OS: Windows Vista

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:01 am

Meanwhile, since I have no school tomorrow, I was able to make large amounts of progress on the OHP.

Image
I added the main lights, and the box thing with the landing and taxi lights on it. The lights dialog is almost obsolete, I just need to add knobs and labels for the controls in it, plus one for the OHP lighting. (And it turns out, it's not the chrome shader causing the problems for pick animations-they work fine on the other switches. And the other one is doing something, just must not be working with the correct property or something.

Also, thought this view was cool:
Image
Engine start system was also debugged, so you can't have both starting and stopping happening at the same time, and also I fixed sounds so it doesn't slightly rumble when the engines are "off" and I added the APU. (Really, I just copied in a lot of the 787 file.)

If I can get all of the stuff and labels on the OHP, plus some more functionality, it'll go into Git and 2.2. Just don't know if I'll be able to do that this weekend.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby dany93 » Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:45 pm

I hadn't observed well, you are right (in fact, the buttons lights are hard to see). Some buttons are clickable (L-ENG-R Start/Stop, APU Start) but none of the Chrome shader switches are, even the one with highlighted hotspot.
The lights dialog is almost obsolete

Do you intend to remove this light dialog box? It's cool to observe from outside which light we act on, or from the cabin, and it helps to understand...
dany93
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:00 pm

I never had a lights dialog in the 787, and nobody complained about that. The only reason I had the lights dialog on the CRJ was that there were no buttons in the cockpit that you could click to switch the buttons. All the new chrome switches work, but the old ones don't-I'll probably fix that as part of my work tonight.

Anyone have an idea how to make the chrome switches respond to a material type animation, with emission? Doesn't work for me.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby skyop » Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:31 pm

nickyivyca wrote in Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:00 pm:Anyone have an idea how to make the chrome switches respond to a material type animation, with emission? Doesn't work for me.


The chrome shader is quite temperamental for me, so I hardly ever use it. Especially for cockpit switches. The target object can't be mapped, material animations are worthless... just too many problems to make it worth it, IMO.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:15 am

Allright, here's what I did in the 3 hours I had tonight.

Image
Added the Misc Lights panel. And it turns out that the lights dialog will never fully be obsolete, because the main cabin lights are controlled by the flight attendant. So I scaled down the lights dialog to only do that. The rest of its functions are gone, you'll just be clicking on the switches on the OHP.

Image
You can see the dome light, backup compass light, and panel lights in action here. One thing's weird with the compass (similar to the one in Skyop's CRJ-900-just a couple changes from that already-changed one)- one of the parts appears "noshadow"ed or something. So it doesn't respond to material emission animations, because it's always glowing. This is the one with the airplane diagram on it. The other one works fine-I have it "wired" to the compass light switch, which has a working dim setting.

Next up is probably adding geometry to the OHP, that probably won't be functional. Or maybe I'll make some of the "Electrical Power Services" panel work. I won't be doing any work next night, so this'll happen Monday night and Tuesday during the early parts of the day, because I have a short 2-3 page piece of prose to write in the later parts of the day.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby Bravo » Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:39 pm

Just did a KRNO-KSFO flight in the crj. The ILS didn't work, but the ap was perfect. Landing was extremely smooth and easy.

Great Job, Guys
If you need anything just PM me.
User avatar
Bravo
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: New Jersey
Callsign: Bravo
Version: GIT
OS: Windows 7

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby slwbt » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:25 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to flight gear in general but was wondering if I could ask a few questions about the 787-8 here as I'm using it almost exclusively now.

Before i continue... thank you thankyou thankyou for an excellent airplane, all the other airliners I've tried on FG have been bare cockpited and unpleasant to fly (excepting the 777-200/300 which I still think needs more AP work, and no VOR/airports displayed in radar like in the 787 :[ )

OK so I'm running FG 2.0.0 and using the 787013011-V03-Dev 787 (cockpit devel)

Questions in order of annoyance:
1: in the 777-200 I can set a bank limit and this helps me do a half standard turn when doing a holding/intercept. I cant find how to set this on the 787-8

2: for a week I've been swearing and cursing because I have to click the HDG/ALT buttons like mad when I want to do a 180 turn (ok admitadly I just discovered a middle click accellerates this but for a 180 turn I'm still looking at 18 clicks.... VS the 777-200 which allows you to just hold the left click and watch the numbers turn) .... I'm trying to avoid the flightgear autopilot interface because the 787 is way cooler.

What got me hooked on FG/787-8 was the soaroy videos on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdB4OEOIS0c in this he can just hold the left/click as I mentioned above... and this was a video last year so what am I missing? :/

3: the autobrake button doesn't work/exist , ok its not exactly a problem but is it actually armed?

4: there don't seem to be altitude countdowns, retard alerts, V1... co-pilot stuff... is this possible?

5: what does enabling the flight director do? I've noticed slightly less steep banks on turns I think...?

And finally a suggestion
..poor geeks like me who fly by keyboard+mouse... without a joystick at landing I find it extremely hard to do this at retard :
a: drop throttle ENTIRELY and quickly
b: hit DEL to activate reverse thrust..... "CHECK that its actually activated....."
c:throttle up FAST, try doing it by keyboard.. its really slow and hard when yer trying to adjust rudder at the same time as watching the screen+keyb at once...

again its not a problem, and its certainly not putting me off enjoying this lovely FG airplane almost exclusivly but isn't it possible to bind a key for this maybe?

Even the 777-200/300er's I've tried just don't compare, I cant land catI-IIIs on kai-tak because there are not OM/MM alerts/noises for example, and the AP just feels "wrong"... hard to explain but really.....

THANKS for the excellent work on the 787-8, I just landed kai-tak with 70% fuel and a failed right engine+evil crosswind, AP worked the approach/desc like a charm :)
slwbt
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:45 pm

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby MAKG » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:34 pm

There is no aircraft in real life that is flown with a mouse and keyboard. There is a reason for this -- it's a really bad interface for the actions that need to be taken.

However, some aircraft (notably Airbusses) do use joysticks.

Joysticks are not expensive (unlike yokes); I'll suggest this might be a good investment.
MAKG
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:11 pm
Location: California Central Coast

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby 439Tiger » Tue Mar 08, 2011 12:06 am

Hi Slwbt,

Take a look here for example, there are a bunch for under $40

http://search.dell.com/results.aspx?s=gen&c=us&l=en&cs=&k=joystick&cat=all&ref=ac&x=11&y=10

I personaly use the T Flight Hotas X
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: 787 and CRJ-200 Development

Postby nickyivyca » Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:34 am

Allright, I haven't posted in this thread in a while...so what I'd recommend, for the casual user user to use the version in my sig. And use the main version, not cockpit development (the autobrake knob works in the main version).

As for development? I've done stuff with the CRJ-200. But my git's FG screenshotter isn't working. Gives me an error:

Image

Anyways, I've added a lightmap (landing lights, vstab, wings) and also remapped the wings to a separate texture, for detailing later.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 3 guests