Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Airbus A320 [Family]

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby teh warlock » Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:21 am

Ive added ambient Occlusion to the a320 and retextured the wings and heres how they look so far this was just a little project for me as im working on getting the hang of blender
Image
Currently it comes with just the NWA Texture but i will work on creating a Template for use
Download Here
remember this: when in doubt ask skyop.
User avatar
teh warlock
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:20 am
IRC name: tehwarlock
Version: git
OS: Win/Mac/Lin

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Vinura » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:35 am

Get this error;

Model not found: 'C:/FlightGear/data/Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A32-231.xml'

Downloaded the 2.0 version...
Vinura
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:28 am
Version: GIT
OS: Windows 7

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Vinura » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:54 am

Vinura wrote in Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:35 am:Get this error;

Model not found: 'C:/FlightGear/data/Aircraft/A320-family/XMLs/A32-231.xml'

Downloaded the 2.0 version...


Nevermind, found the answer...
Vinura
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:28 am
Version: GIT
OS: Windows 7

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby zackyzac96 » Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:38 pm

The link to the download does not work anymore anywhere else i can get the plane from
zackyzac96
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby skyop » Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:56 pm

What link?

Did you try the wiki?
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Quix0r » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:09 am

skyop: All A318/319/320/321 airplanes in your family have trouble with rudder, I tried the 787 model and I can easily taxi from runway to gate and back without any trouble. Please, please fix the rudder problem I have described some postings above.
Admin of mpserver08: mpserver08.flightgear.org:5000 running latest GIT version: v0.13.3 - User:Quix0r
Quix0r
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Krefeld
Callsign: D-Quix0r
Version: next
OS: Debian

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby skyop » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:24 am

Sorry Quixor, but I don't intend on removing the rudder wind function within the forseeable future, so long as I lack any JSBSim knowledge.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Quix0r » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:29 am

So JSBSim is not realistic enough? Wether Airbus nor Boing nor any other airplane construction company would make money with those to weak motors for the rudder. Even a wind of 5kts (according to a chat user) can move that rudder. :(
Admin of mpserver08: mpserver08.flightgear.org:5000 running latest GIT version: v0.13.3 - User:Quix0r
Quix0r
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Krefeld
Callsign: D-Quix0r
Version: next
OS: Debian

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby gustavo oliveros » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:31 am

Quix0r wrote in Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:09 am:skyop: All A318/319/320/321 airplanes in your family have trouble with rudder, I tried the 787 model and I can easily taxi from runway to gate and back without any trouble. Please, please fix the rudder problem I have described some postings above.

but also you can controlate the rudder with the dot (.) and comma (,), and mantain a regular velocity, aproximately 10-15 kts when you want turn...
@Skyop: you can fix this problem?? it's a little annoying this problem, because the plane keeps turning, and so one can leave the runway and be a good time trying center the plane :roll:
We are a small dot in the known universe ... and the unknown?
Vive FlightGear! Have you a Ñ on your keyboard? Spain-LatinAmerica FlightGear community
CC-GOM
My Airport: SCSE (La Serena, Chile)---some screenshot: front-- back--taxi lights
User avatar
gustavo oliveros
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:28 pm
Location: La serena, Chile (SCSE)
Callsign: CC-GOM
Version: cuatro

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby skyop » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:32 am

No, JSBSim is the most realistic FDM we have available. But the garbage in, garbage out rule still applies. Maybe that rudder movement function *is* unrealistic (it probably is), but I simply don't have the knowledge or skill to tweak it. :(

Same for you, gustavo.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Quix0r » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:35 am

Sure, that is fine to me. :) So we (or you?) need to inform the JSBSim developers to fix their "rudder control" function... And hope that they find it.
Admin of mpserver08: mpserver08.flightgear.org:5000 running latest GIT version: v0.13.3 - User:Quix0r
Quix0r
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Krefeld
Callsign: D-Quix0r
Version: next
OS: Debian

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby skyop » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:36 am

*shrug* I really have no idea how that function works. I can't comment on what I don't understand. And you really can't make a generalization on a whole FDM system based on one little glitch in one little aircraft (series).

And no, I will not switch to YASim. ;)
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby Quix0r » Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:41 am

No offense here against JSBSim :) And no, you don't need to switch.

We should focus on the problem itself: The FDM's rudder function has a little glitch/problem here which needs investigation and fixation.
Admin of mpserver08: mpserver08.flightgear.org:5000 running latest GIT version: v0.13.3 - User:Quix0r
Quix0r
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Krefeld
Callsign: D-Quix0r
Version: next
OS: Debian

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby scotth1 » Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:41 am

In the JSBsim file (eg: A320-231.xml) under the "YAW" channel, there are two Yaw Damper values.

Code: Select all
<pure_gain name="Yaw Damper Rate">
    <input>velocities/r-rad_sec</input>
    <gain>2</gain>
</pure_gain>

The value velocities/r-rad_sec is the speed of the wind in radians/second

Code: Select all
<pure_gain name="Yaw Damper Beta">
    <input>aero/beta-rad</input>
    <gain>-5</gain>
</pure_gain>

This is the direction of the wind against the body of the airframe, in radians.

Code: Select all
<summer name="Yaw Trim Sum">
    <input>fcs/rudder-cmd-norm</input>
     <input>fcs/yaw-trim-cmd-norm</input>
    <clipto>
        <min>-1</min>
        <max>1</max>
    </clipto>
</summer>

This add together the rudder controls (from the pedals) and the rudder trim control, then ensures it's in a range -1 to 1

We then add all three of the above together, and ensure it's in a range of -1 to 1 and output the value as "fcs/rudder-sum"
Then the rudder-sum value is converted from degrees to radians and output to "fcs/rudder-pos-rad"
Then the JSBsim C++ code takes the fcs/rudder-pos-rad and outputs fcs/rudder-pos-deg somehow.
Finally we take the fcs/rudder-pos-deg value and normalise it from -25 to 25 down to -1 to 1 and output as fcs/rudder-pos-norm

So a bit of tweaking of the Yaw Damper Rate gain value I think could be the first place to tone-down the effect it has, a bit of playing around with a value of 0.5, and a value of -1.5 used in Yaw Damper Beta should help keep you on the centreline during some strong crosswind.

Hope that helps
S.
Last edited by scotth1 on Sat Apr 09, 2011 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
scotth1
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:27 am
Location: Australia
Callsign: VH-SHA
Version: Git next
OS: Linux 3.4.11

Re: Airbus A320 [Family]

Postby gustavo oliveros » Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:55 am

but i don't mean the natural turn what have all and every aircraft on FG, but there is a annoying problem when you make very close turns, because when you center the rudder, the aircraft still turning, even if you tryng stop the turn moving the rudder to the opposite direction...
look, I made this video to better explain what I mean:

are marked the parts that I have doubts, as the wheel, and something that I not like me is the opacity of the windows, because you can't see anything out :(
Last edited by gustavo oliveros on Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
We are a small dot in the known universe ... and the unknown?
Vive FlightGear! Have you a Ñ on your keyboard? Spain-LatinAmerica FlightGear community
CC-GOM
My Airport: SCSE (La Serena, Chile)---some screenshot: front-- back--taxi lights
User avatar
gustavo oliveros
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:28 pm
Location: La serena, Chile (SCSE)
Callsign: CC-GOM
Version: cuatro

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests