Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Airbus A320 [Family]

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:52 pm

@redneck, cruising on the JSBSim version is fine here. Managed to climb to FL390 at Mach 0.78 without any issues with the 787 autopilot. Here are some pics for the heck of it:

Image

Image

Here's the flight on the MP tracker too- very nice, went from KSFO 28L to Santa Maria. 8)

@Armchair Ace: where did you get this EICAS display?

Image
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby redneck » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:58 pm

Well, that's interesting. I'll have to try again when you release the next version.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:17 am

Added a new "Failures" dialog- currently it only contains engine fire controls:

Image

Sorry, the fire truck doesn't do anything but sit there- but hey, it's good for a FlightGear movie! *hint hint* ;)
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:34 am

New release available - 08/07/2010

Changelog:

  • Cargo hold geometry improved
  • Cockpit fully textured
  • 744 instruments replaced with 777 instruments (note: you need to use the "Autostart" command to turn them on, even when flying with the YASim [winglets] version)
  • Flightdeck and cabin interior split off from the main model- this makes modifying them and using them on future variants (A318, A319, A321, etc.) easier (and adheres to Ampere's policy of "model decentralization." :) )
  • New engine fire controls and static fire truck added (engines turn off when on fire only in JSBSim [regular] version)
  • 787 autopilot implemented correctly, so the autopilot is now usable
  • Sidestick animations fixed, right sidestick re-enabled

Download: A320-08072010.zip

A stable version is coming soon after some tweaks for YASim compatibility :arrow:
Last edited by skyop on Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:01 am, edited 2 times in total.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:39 am

I think I can grab some nasal scripting from the 787 to shut down the engines in case of fire. And also implement the autostart to start up the engines, though I'm not sure about that. I'll take a look soon.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:44 am

nickyivyca wrote:And also implement the autostart to start up the engines, though I'm not sure about that. I'll take a look soon.


Here's the current engine start function in systems.nas:

Code: Select all
startup = func
 {
 # activate glass cockpit instruments
 setprop("systems/electrical/outputs/efis", 16);

 # turn on starter
 setprop("controls/engines/engine[0]/starter", "true");
 setprop("controls/engines/engine[1]/starter", "true");

 # turn on fuel pump
 setprop("controls/engines/engine[0]/fuel-pump", "true");
 setprop("controls/engines/engine[1]/fuel-pump", "true");

 # toggle engine cutoff after 1 second
 settimer(func {
  setprop("controls/engines/engine[0]/cutoff", "false");
  setprop("controls/engines/engine[1]/cutoff", "false");
  }, 1);
 }


I'm sure it wouldn't be too hard to find the YASim counterparts of these JSBSim properties.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:14 am

Guys, slight problem: the new 777 instruments are visible through the model! :shock:

Image

Any fixes?
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby Armchair Ace » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:38 am

The EICAS display came from the 772ER. As far as I could tell, it doesn't work too well on aircraft other than the 772ER.

Say, do you mind if I add the A320 Engine Fire system to the Fokker 100? I tried implementing engine fires on it, but I can't find a property in the Internal Property Browser.

~Tom
Member of the FlightGear Flying Club

Current Projects :
Miscellaneous texture and sound work
User avatar
Armchair Ace
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: EGP?
Callsign: G-ATPF
IRC name: ArmchairAce
OS: Mac OSX

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:42 am

Armchair Ace wrote:The EICAS display came from the 772ER. As far as I could tell, it doesn't work too well on aircraft other than the 772ER.


I thought it came from some Airbus-like plane because of the blue border. :?

Armchair Ace wrote:Say, do you mind if I add the A320 Engine Fire system to the Fokker 100? I tried implementing engine fires on it, but I can't find a property in the Internal Property Browser.


Oh, not at all! :D In fact, I'll PM you some documentation (it's not exactly cut-and-paste ;) ).
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:03 am

skyop wrote:Guys, slight problem: the new 777 instruments are visible through the model! :shock:

Image

Any fixes?

Code: Select all
 <animation>
  <type>select</type>
  <object-name>EICAS</object-name>
  <object-name>Intstrument1</object-name>
  <condition>
   <equals>
    <property>sim/current-view/view-number</property>
    <value>0</value>
   </equals>
  </condition>
 </animation>


Add that to the main model file. Make sure to add <object-name> tags for all the instruments. This will make the instruments only show up in cockpit view.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:33 am

Aww, such a simple solution, wonder why I didn't think of it earlier.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:45 am

Also, the YASim autostart isn't working for me. When I press autostart, nothing happens. I think it has sometime to do with the console error that I'm getting whenever I start up.

Code: Select all
Nasal error: could not read script file: G:/Flightgear191/data/Aircraft/A320/Nasal/dialogs.nas into module dialogs

There is no "dialogs.nas" file...
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:48 am

nickyivyca wrote:Also, the YASim autostart isn't working for me. When I press autostart, nothing happens. I think it has sometime to do with the console error that I'm getting whenever I start up.


Are you using a custom autostart script? Where'd you get it?

nickyivyca wrote:There is no "dialogs.nas" file...


Exactly. I deleted that file because it was no longer necessary- perhaps that autostart script is linking to it by mistake? :?
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:55 am

I think what is happening is that FlightGear gives up on Nasal when it can't find dialogs.nas, so it doesn't load systems.nas and thus not loading autostart.

systems.nas doesn't reference any sort of dialogs, and also, I am using the nasal files that came with your latest release.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Airbus A320 Re-development Project

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:28 am

Ugh... have no idea what is going on... NONE of my files make any reference to the long-gone dialogs.nas. It could very well be an internal error with FlightGear.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests