Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Trying to fix the B-29

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Trying to fix the B-29

Postby isantop » Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:52 am

Hello. I'm relatively new to flightgear, as well as flight simulators in general. In addition, I'm a programmer, which means I want to do wierd things with my programs.

Anyways, The main reason I decided to use flightgear was because it had a Boeing B-29 Bomber. You can imagine how disgruntled I was to find out it doesn't work! While I do still use flightgear, I still want to fly my B-29! So I decided to take a look at the config file. Now, I'm not great with xml, but I have some good experience with html, and so know how markup languages work.

Upon opening the file, I imediatly found a comment saying it was written for FG 0.9.3. Problem Identified. But that's only half the work! (in this case, it seems more like a tenth! :) )

Although the file would fail to load, I decided to try (emphasis on try) to fix the file. I made all my backups, and set to work. To start, I replaced the orginal b29.xml with the 737-300.xml file from the Boeing 737. I then replaced all of the numbers with the ones from the original b29.xml file. I also made common sense changes (such as adding two more engines, etc) to the best of my ability.

After several long, hard hours copying data from file to file, I finally made my final saves and launched flightgear. However, despite my work, it aborts after "Initializing Subsystems" with a command line output of "FlightGear Aborting".

So I got desparate. I noticed the sounds file was referenceing sounds belonging to another a/c, so I used some modified P-51D sounds and some in FGROOT to replace them.

Again, however, FG still won't load it and still gives me the same output. I am trying the JSBSim model.

So, any ideas? I can post the b29 folder up next week.
isantop