Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Grob 103 sailplane available for test flying!

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Grob 103 sailplane available for test flying!

Postby gliderace » Mon Nov 26, 2007 7:01 pm

I am working on a Grob 103 sailplane, and have a ZIP available for download at http://www.coldwaterdesign.com/simaircraft/grob103.zip.

If anyone is interested, and has the time, I would appreciate feedback.

I am a Grob 103 pilot, and have had one modeled for X-Plane for quite some time now; this is my first foray into FG, however, and much of what I created for X-Plane is ported over to this system.

I have three areas of interest that I would appreciate any help with:

1) Visually, I am still working on it...it is getting there, but the 'right' side seems to have some unusual shading (I tried making surfaces two-sided via Blender in UVFaceSelect, and still have some strangeness). This is best seen from the cockpit, looking to the right wing and then craning around to look at the left wing. The cockpit is 3D, and with minimal instrumentation for now.

2) The flight model uses JSBsim...I would like to use YASIM, and tried that at first and never got any forward motion...literally. The sailplane just would not respond. Does YASIM not allow sailplanes? I find that hard to believe and think it was my own ineptitude with the YASIM xml. Does anyone prefer YASIM over JSBsim? With JSB, I can use the correct Eppler 603 airfoil Cl data per degree, it seems, which is nice...

3) Does anyone have a variometer for sailplanes? Note that I do not have one, here. The ASI utilizes a photo from the Grob that I fly, and I believe I have the speed ranges worked out on its unique nautilus dial. Any help with a vario is appreciated.

Thank you all in advance,

Sonny
gliderace

Postby ajm » Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:32 pm