Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

A380

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: A380

Postby omega95 » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:28 pm

I would have thought there'd be more cross-over and communication between the developers to make it more effective.


I was hoping for that but I'm not sure if I've very good at that. I've also been trying to get in touch with scotth1 to get help figuring out some of his code, but instead of waiting, I just re-wrote it myself. Yes, it is very inefficient but I'm on a very tight timeline here. I have about another 2 weeks to do as much as I can with the aircraft and then I have to go back to work - which means I'll not be doing much development for FlightGear - probably nothing at all, like the last year.
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A380

Postby omega95 » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:36 pm

Just took off on an evening test flight to test the new EFIS animations, the canvas ND and the FDM changes I made (climbing to FL330 after departing at MTOW)...

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Unless I figure out (without copying the mapstructure.nas file into the A380 directory and making changes there) how to make the canvas ND an "airbus" ND, I will probably end up removing it and placing the airbus ND from my A330s/A320neo (and the old A380). :|
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A380

Postby Hooray » Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:31 am

omega95 wrote in Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:36 pm:Unless I figure out (without copying the mapstructure.nas file into the A380 directory and making changes there) how to make the canvas ND an "airbus" ND, I will probably end up removing it and placing the airbus ND from my A330s/A320neo (and the old A380). :|


The wiki article should answer that question and even provide specific examples.

But frankly, even if you were to copy MapStructure.nas a 100 times and modify it, it would have to do nothing with the ND - MapStructure.nas is just the back-end, sort of like a "driver". While the actual ND is implemented in a separate file. The right file to look at in this case is $FG_ROOT/Nasal/canvas/map/navdisplay.styles

Details on implementing your own ND are provided here: http://wiki.flightgear.org/NavDisplay#Custom_ND_Styles

It's mainly a matter of 1) opening the SVG file (e.g. in Inkscape) and customizing it for Airbus symbols & features. Next, you'd want to edit the "styling" hash and add a new entry there for any custom symbols/layers and animate those, according to the descriptions, for example: http://wiki.flightgear.org/NavDisplay#A ... w_features

As you can see, editing MapStructure.nas won't help you with the ND at all
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12093
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: A380

Postby patstan » Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:34 pm

@omega95

where can i download this version of the A380.
Not to mention, it looks great!
patstan
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:27 pm
Callsign: patstan
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 8

Re: A380

Postby omega95 » Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:05 pm

patstan wrote in Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:34 pm:where can i download this version of the A380.


No where yet, I will make a git repository and post it out here (and ofcourse collaborate with scotth1 and Sascha on having my systems on the GPL-only version) when I'm satisfied with my work. :)
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A380

Postby patstan » Fri Jul 18, 2014 12:51 pm

omega95 wrote in Wed Jul 16, 2014 7:05 pm:No where yet, I will make a git repository and post it out here (and ofcourse collaborate with scotth1 and Sascha on having my systems on the GPL-only version) when I'm satisfied with my work. :)


I must say it looks pretty awesome. I'd love to try this out soon, if you can provide the files to me. I can help with bugs etc.
patstan
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:27 pm
Callsign: patstan
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 8

Re: A380

Postby scotth1 » Sat Jul 19, 2014 8:06 am

This work is being done in a branch of the A380 git repository.
https://gitorious.org/airbus-aircraft/a ... 0-newmodel

Sascha is making some changes that we'll merge in, they'll get updated in this branch, and eventually we will merge this branch back into master and publish it to fgdata and the official download page, I don't think we will make the 3.2 release which has just gone into frozen state.

S.
scotth1
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:27 am
Location: Australia
Callsign: VH-SHA
Version: Git next
OS: Linux 3.4.11

Re: A380

Postby Wombat » Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:05 pm

Hey scotth 1,

I downloaded the new A380, but I can't do anything in the cockpit and the aircraft looks horrible from outside o.O.
But the cockpit looks soo awesome, keep up that work man! :)
Operations Director of MerlionBlue/Europe - Merlion Hub Manager for EGKK - Controller for LOWI (NIATCA-project) - Fan of Lufthansa - ATC services at European Airports
Wombat
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:15 pm
Location: EDDF
Callsign: MIA1481/DLH159
Version: FG 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: A380

Postby omega95 » Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:23 pm

To avoid any confusion, i'll be creating a new topic for jormapaappa1235's and my (multi-licensed) A380 version that will not go into fgdata.

Cheers! :)
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A380

Postby ph-cor » Tue Aug 19, 2014 5:54 pm

A380 developers, hi

Abrupt seeking the ground when selecting flaps 3 and 4 on final, instable behaviour of the autopilot on final and ineffective speedbrakes brought me, not beeing a programmer, to search where things as drag, lift, and roll, yaw and pitch moments were covered in the files. It seems to be the A380_RJ.xml file. I could see that I was not the first one tossing here around. I have tweaked the values to get the A380 flyable for all 4 flap settings, with effective speedbrakes and following the glidepath stable on final with coupled autopilot. The altered A380_RJ.xml seems to me after many testflights better than the one in the Git and I will be glad to give the file to Flightgear.

Greetings,
ph-cor
ph-cor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: A380

Postby omega95 » Tue Aug 19, 2014 7:32 pm

You shouldn't have that problem with my A380 (still in development though) - [url]https://gitorious.org/fg-airbus-a380-omega/url]
Merlion Virtual Airlines - the experience of a flight time...
Get high quality aircraft, airports, video tutorials or development tools from my hangar.
omega95
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:59 am
Location: -unknown-
Callsign: MIA0001, OM-EGA
IRC name: omega95
Version: 2.12 git
OS: Ubuntu 13.04

Re: A380

Postby onox » Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:22 pm

You might want to ignore those backup files (ending with a tilde). See git help ignore
Last edited by onox on Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.
onox
Retired
 
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:45 pm

Re: A380

Postby ph-cor » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:03 pm

Hello ONOX,

open your flightgear directory
open data directory
open aircraft directory
open A380 directory
there you see the files, amongst them A380_RJ.xml
open A380_RJ.xml with wordpad to see or edit content

Greetings,
ph-cor
ph-cor
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:46 pm

Re: A380

Postby fahstinny » Sat Sep 13, 2014 4:54 pm

Hey, i was testing out the A380 and there is a problem. the plane wiggles a lot (Banking Left to right on repeat)when i was on ILS approach with the plane. is there something wrong?
fahstinny
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2012 2:39 am

Re: A380

Postby patstan » Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:28 pm

Its a huge frame rate eater this thing. I get around 50 to 60 fps on normal A330/A320/777 flights with full settings and on this new A380 version after flying around 5 to 10 minutes FPS drops down to around 5 to 10.

Something worrying is that if i lower all settings, it gets worse. Upping the settings makes the FPS climb :O. Never seen that before lol!
patstan
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:27 pm
Callsign: patstan
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 8

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jetsurfer, YandexBot [Bot] and 4 guests