Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Project A321 *Development Paused*

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Do You Think The A320 Family including The a318,a319,a320,a321 are worth developing

yes
47
85%
no
3
5%
maybe
5
9%
 
Total votes : 55

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby lordhadri » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:15 pm

But it's never been modeled as well as the 737s, and I'd love to have one to fly around Europe because of all the great liveries for it. But first it needs a working autopilot and not buggy fdm.
lordhadri
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:31 am

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:21 pm

lordhadri wrote:But it's never been modeled as well as the 737s, and I'd love to have one to fly around Europe because of all the great liveries for it. But first it needs a working autopilot and not buggy fdm.


Ampere's model is modelled very well, and the fdm ( is the same for both,) is also quite nice and even realistic. I don't know which b737 you mean, hopefully not the 739ER.
And we have already an improved A320 one by Johnbourg (?)here in the forum, which also quite nice.

It depends all on the datas we have, and a lot of efforts to make it detailed as possible- but is possible!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby teh warlock » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:43 pm

i have found a wonderful a321 model and i` am testing it right now as i am posting this
remember this: when in doubt ask skyop.
User avatar
teh warlock
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:20 am
IRC name: tehwarlock
Version: git
OS: Win/Mac/Lin

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:49 pm

:?
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby teh warlock » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:54 pm

I AM GOING TO MAP IT ..... AND GET THE XML POINTS FOR IT TO POSITION IT
remember this: when in doubt ask skyop.
User avatar
teh warlock
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:20 am
IRC name: tehwarlock
Version: git
OS: Win/Mac/Lin

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby lordhadri » Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:31 pm

Unless I missed another update, the A320 I have doesn't have animated spoilers, is unstable on takeoff and no working altitude hold, and some other modeling quirks that shouldn't be there. It seems close but it's still not as reliable as the 739 or other 737 models, nor as pleasant to fly, and therefore not suitable for my cross-country flights :S

Perhaps Ampere's original model didn't have these problems, but I can't find it.
lordhadri
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:31 am

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby teh warlock » Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:52 pm

.... should i put iae engines or cfm? they have cfm now but should i change it to iae?
remember this: when in doubt ask skyop.
User avatar
teh warlock
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:20 am
IRC name: tehwarlock
Version: git
OS: Win/Mac/Lin

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby simbabeat » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:36 pm

HHS wrote:
simbabeat wrote:
malikguest wrote:got some bad news :( seing how this topic got so big i regret to inform you that i cannot use this model :( i have to start from scratch i will need everybody who has the a321 model to delete it :( :cry: :cry:

There are a lot of google sketchup users who are all for open source and there are a lot of a321 models out there. check if one of them would be willing to let you use the model. ask them first :)



Uh... Sketchup is a nice prgram, but not that sufficent on aircraft-modelling, more on architecture.

We already have the A320, even by two authors, and I'm sure this models can be used very well for it!

well we can convert sketchup to ac3d and then modify it.....
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:13 pm

First: are you CVS-user or 1.9.1?

My opinion on CVS especially Ampere's model which is based on real datas:

lordhadri wrote:Unless I missed another update, the A320 I have doesn't have animated spoilers,

no, but Ampere's model is prepared to be easily animated- change it, if you the current status don't like.
is unstable on takeoff and no working altitude hold,

Ampere's Model is stable on takeoff, the altitude hold is working really nice- I can't see your problems.

and some other modeling quirks that shouldn't be there.

Change it- it is OpenSource!

It seems close but it's still not as reliable as the 739...

Are you really talking about the 739? I don't want to offense Xsaint, as I know he isn't finished, but it uses the 777-fdm unchanged. Has a 739 a 777-behaviour?
The A320 has the right dimensions, the right proportions. The 739 still uses the old wrong 733-model, with wrong wings, wrong flaps, wrong interior, wrong tinted windows, wrong flightdeck....

... or other 737 models, nor as pleasant to fly, and therefore not suitable for my cross-country flights :S

Perhaps Ampere's original model didn't have these problems, but I can't find it.

Unchanged since 1.9.1 available on flightgear.org or CVS.

Hey people!

OpenSource, as FlightGear is, means, that you can use another ones work, change it, modify it as long keep the licence!
And in the past, there were a lot of people put in a lot of work in their models- we don't need to reinvent the wheel!
Instead I see that a lot of people trying to make their own work; disregarding licences ( like we could see it here in this thread) or even steal it! :shock: :roll:

We have with Ampere's Model a wonderful A320 model, maybe it has glitches, but I do know a lot of other aircrafts which isn't half as that good! It is OpenSource, so you can add missiles, bombs, nukes, rockets, smoke, fire, explosions- all stuff what you like....

Johnbourg already used this model and I'm sure that this is even a good start for all the other variants of this bird...
You must just begin and not babbling....
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Thu Dec 03, 2009 10:18 pm

simbabeat wrote:well we can convert sketchup to ac3d and then modify it.....

Then would it be really easier to start from scratch in Blender....
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby simbabeat » Fri Dec 04, 2009 1:02 am

HHS wrote:
simbabeat wrote:well we can convert sketchup to ac3d and then modify it.....

Then would it be really easier to start from scratch in Blender....

huh? i don't understand
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:47 am

I'm very sure I read "Blender" instead of ac3d yesterday...nethertheless if Blender or ac3d- starting with one modeller and convert it to an other one isn't very recommended.
Though sketchup is easy to use, it was developed for architecture. But for detailed models like aircrafts with more complex shapes starting from ac3d or Blender is easier.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby simbabeat » Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:16 pm

Once you can convert from sketchup all you really need to do is smoothing
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby HHS » Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:25 pm

simbabeat wrote:Once you can convert from sketchup all you really need to do is smoothing


O.k.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Airbus A321 Development

Postby teh warlock » Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:08 am

Image
remember this: when in doubt ask skyop.
User avatar
teh warlock
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 1:20 am
IRC name: tehwarlock
Version: git
OS: Win/Mac/Lin

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest