Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby MOJO » Fri May 28, 2010 7:18 pm

Link seems to be dead but I'm excited as to what it looks like
F-18 Hornets by Mandate - F-14 Tomcats by Choice
User avatar
MOJO
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
Callsign: MOJO
Version: 2
OS: Windows Seven

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Fri May 28, 2010 7:52 pm

Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby MOJO » Sat May 29, 2010 3:51 am

That is one detailed heli :)
F-18 Hornets by Mandate - F-14 Tomcats by Choice
User avatar
MOJO
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
Callsign: MOJO
Version: 2
OS: Windows Seven

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:11 am

Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby simbabeat » Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:47 pm

Texture that and it will look amazing!
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby MOJO » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:35 pm

Those 2 tanks look like hydraulic tanks to me maybe to operate the seat. The reason behind my thought is that if you look at the back of a forklift truck you often see these types of tanks to drive the hydraulic arms. I'll keep bugging google to see if it can give a answer as to what they really are
F-18 Hornets by Mandate - F-14 Tomcats by Choice
User avatar
MOJO
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
Callsign: MOJO
Version: 2
OS: Windows Seven

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Thu Jun 03, 2010 3:04 pm

I don't think it is for hydraulics... Their tanks are in the rear and it doesn't appear on the charts.

Image

--Blender3D
Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:02 pm

New details...

Image

--Blender3D
Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Avionyx » Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:41 pm

Looking stunning, great work.

Alex
Avionyx
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: EGKA
Callsign: G-AVYX
Version: GIT
OS: Arch

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby VaLeo » Sun Jul 04, 2010 8:34 pm

Blender3D wrote:I don't think it is for hydraulics... Their tanks are in the rear and it doesn't appear on the charts.


At your picture:

"Pic.71 Location of air system aggregates at helicopter"
VaLeo
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Ukraine, Dnipropetrovsk
Version: GIT
OS: Debian 7

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:22 pm

I will not continue development for some weeks now. Therefore I uploaded my project to git. You can get it with:
Code: Select all
git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git


Have a lot of fun with it :)

--Blender3D

PS: Don't worry, I will take up development again in fall.
@ VaLeo:
Thanks for your translation, it will be useful.
Last edited by Blender3D on Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Toanphuc » Sat Jul 10, 2010 4:44 pm

well after clone your mil 6 on git i feel impress with the cockpit detail but i can't load the texture and can't fly too.Wonder why.
A good flight sim is not to make people feel fly easier but to make them feel fly is as real as it get.
Other Free Flight Sims viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8847
Toanphuc
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:26 am

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Sat Jul 10, 2010 4:58 pm

Sorry forgot to tell you. You have to enable rotor-rotation with "}". Then you can fly and I removed some of the textures because I don't have rights to redistribute them. I will make own textures when modeling is finished.
Then of course there weren't too much textures anyway. just 3 or 4 panels had textures.

BTW: make the clickable switches visible with Ctrl + c. You need to click on the middle one of the overhead panel to enable attitude indicators. The three on the right of the overhead panels are for heating, which is not yet implemented and the four on the left are for landing lights that aren't implemented too.
The five clickable switches on the engineer-panel are to enable (or disable) fuel tanks. From left to right: Tank 1, 2, 3, 4, 6

--Blender3D
Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Toanphuc » Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:44 pm

you should make a proper HUD too,helicopter u know,hard to fly if u don't know where you stick at.The FDM is little unstable.
A good flight sim is not to make people feel fly easier but to make them feel fly is as real as it get.
Other Free Flight Sims viewtopic.php?f=3&t=8847
Toanphuc
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 5:26 am

Re: Russian Helicopter Mil Mi-6

Postby Blender3D » Sun Jul 11, 2010 10:46 am

I'm not yet sure if I want a HUD at all. There will be functional instruments that will help you flying the aircraft.

Anyway... I am doing experiments with the particle system and already have trouble. I wanted to place particles on one of the windshields. Therefor I used this code:
Code: Select all
<PropertyList>
   <particlesystem>
      <name>raindrops</name>
      <texture>raindrop.png</texture>
      
      <emissive type="bool">false</emissive>
      <lighting type="bool">false</lighting>
      
      <condition>
      <!--   <and>
            <greater-than>
               <property></property>
               <value></value>
            </greater-than>
         </and>-->
      </condition>
      
      <attach>local</attach>
      
      <placer>
         <type>segments</type>
         <segments>
            <vertex>
               <x-m>-2.091</x-m>
               <y-m>-0.612</y-m>
               <z-m>3.459</z-m>
            </vertex>
            <vertex>
               <x-m>-1.837</x-m>
               <y-m>-0.912</y-m>
               <z-m>3.366</z-m>
            </vertex>
            <vertex>
               <x-m>-2.127</x-m>
               <y-m>-0.966</y-m>
               <z-m>3.008</z-m>
            </vertex>
            <vertex>
               <x-m>-2.311</x-m>
               <y-m>-0.650</y-m>
               <z-m>3.124</z-m>
            </vertex>
         </segments>
      </placer>
      
      <shooter>
         <theta-min-deg>0</theta-min-deg>
         <theta-max-deg>0</theta-max-deg>
         <phi-min-deg>0</phi-min-deg>
         <phi-max-deg>0</phi-max-deg>
         <speed-mps>
            <value>0</value>
            <spread>0</spread>
         </speed-mps>
         <rotation-speed>
            <x-min-deg-sec>0</x-min-deg-sec>
            <y-min-deg-sec>0</y-min-deg-sec>
            <z-min-deg-sec>0</z-min-deg-sec>
            <x-max-deg-sec>0</x-max-deg-sec>
            <y-max-deg-sec>0</y-max-deg-sec>
            <z-max-deg-sec>0</z-max-deg-sec>
         </rotation-speed>
      </shooter>
      
      <counter>
         <particles-per-sec>
            <value>15</value>
            <spread>10</spread>
         </particles-per-sec>
      </counter>
      
      <align>billboard</align>
      
      <particle>
         <start>
            <color>
               <red><value>   1.0 </value></red>
               <green><value> 1.0 </value></green>
               <blue><value>  1.0 </value></blue>
               <alpha><value> 1.0 </value></alpha>
            </color>
            <size>
               <value>1</value>
            </size>
         </start>
         
         <end>
            <color>
               <red><value>   1.0 </value></red>
               <green><value> 1.0 </value></green>
               <blue><value>  1.0 </value></blue>
               <alpha><value> 1.0 </value></alpha>
            </color>
            <size>
               <value>1</value>
            </size>
         </end>
         
         <life-sec>
            <value>10</value>
         </life-sec>
         
         <mass-kg>  0.0005 </mass-kg>
         <radius-m> 0.0025 </radius-m>
      </particle>
      
      <program>
         <fluid>               air  </fluid>
         <gravity type="bool"> true </gravity>
         <wind typ="bool">     true </wind>
      </program>
      
   </particlesystem>
</PropertyList>


But my computer keeps saying:
Code: Select all
Detected particle system using segment(s) with less than 2 vertices


I can't understand why, I used the same syntax as in the README.xmlparticles and as you can see, I have more than 2 vertices defined. (I also tries exact two but that doesn't change anything.)
Can anybody help me find my error?

--Blender3D
Fly one of the biggest rotary wing aircraft the world has seen so far! --> Get the newest version now! (http://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev/archive-tarball/master or "git clone git://gitorious.org/mil-mi-6/mi6dev.git")
User avatar
Blender3D
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 8:15 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests