Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Optimizing (Downgrading) aircraft/cockpit graphics  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Optimizing (Downgrading) aircraft/cockpit graphics

Postby danilo159 » Mon May 31, 2021 12:09 am

Hi,

I own an old computer and I prefer to simulate fully functional models but with lower quality cockpits/externals. That is due to my old PC.
My PC can run smoothly the B707 and the C172p, but not the B777 or Extra500. I used to simulate in the P51, but after I changed from Win7 to Ubuntu the new P51 looks more detailed and I can't keep a satisfactory frame rate anymore.
I have some introductory experience in scripting for college but I haven't ever tried 3D modelling or scripting for Flightgear.

My question is:
If I learn all the necessary for changing models, etc., could I "downgrade" the graphics of some planes so they could run in my PC?
danilo159

Callsign: PR-BKJ
Version: 2020.1.1

Re: Optimizing (Downgrading) aircraft/cockpit graphics  

Postby Hooray » Mon May 31, 2021 3:25 am

well, complexity of artwork (3D models, textures) can be procedurally decreased (osg optimizer), but many aircraft are "complex" in the sense that they add a lot of Nasal scripts, FDM systems or Canvas stuff that needs to be recomputed/updated fairly frequently. So there's that, too.

While it's possible to manually optimize things to a fair degree (see Richard's work/comments), that requires a ton of experience and you'd basically require years of experience understanding FlightGear/SimGear internals. It's probably much easier to optimize the core side of things than each aircraft individually, at which point you'll want to know C++ and how to patch/rebuild FlightGear.