Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

A320-family development

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:41 am

I've been revising the overspeed; once I finish you'll get an audio warning when you overspeed, so its clear what is happening :)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby NewsDude » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:21 pm

question, are you going to be picking up on the A330 Family development as well? Or just the A320?
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:44 pm

No, the A330 is a completely different aircraft, sorry.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby naplesAPF » Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:51 am

Can't seem to get the AP on this version/your a320 to work at all - when you click the AP button the AP doesn't turn on - & so route mgr doesn't work. is it me or the AP?
naplesAPF
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:17 pm

Re: A320-family development

Postby merspieler » Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:10 am

Make sure, flightcontrols are in neutral...
If they are, we'd need more information to recreate the bug.
If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:51 am

The autopilot didn't change from the IDG; the controller did and you'll now need electrical power. I don't think that will be a problem as I tested it extensively but it may be another one of those things that works on my system and not on anyone elses. Please show a screenshot of the ECAM electrical page if it isn't working as well as ensuring the controls are centralised.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:48 pm

New fuel system live - please report any oddities, no matter how much!

The only thing which is wrong is the center fuel tank; it will cut out at 200 lbs, at which point scavenge pumps take over to remove this fuel while the main pumps take on the engine load; other than that the system works correctly including outer tank transfer.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby Milo » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:02 pm

Greetings,
First of all I want to thank you for the continuation of the development of this great aircraft family.

I was having a sight into the reviewed fuel system code, and was hoping that the metric system would finally be implemented in to this aircraft family.
After reading the code, it seems to me that its even deliberately omitted, --I might be wrong, since I am only an amateur.

Since more than 90 percent of the people in the world use the metric system, since Airbus is a European company and most of the Airbus aircraft do use the metric system, is there a reason why there seem to be no way to switch from imperial to metric units?
I have a vague souvenir that with Omega's edition of the A32x family, there was a way to switch from lbs to kg, somewhere hidden in the properties tree.

Regards.
GVX0250 _ FGFS v.Git _ Win10_ Asus N76V, RAM8GB, CPU: i7 2.4
Milo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:11 pm
Location: Luxembourg
Callsign: GAX0250
Version: Git
OS: Win8.1

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:42 pm

I think I will do it, but I have to change a lot of things for that so it will take time.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby merspieler » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:14 am

The easiest way would probably be just changing the "front end"... so fuel dialog and ECAM page and keep the system it self running in imperial units.

To why imperial units: Josh is from the US -> they use imperial units...

Note that there's already a feature request for it on github

I'll be looking into changing the frontend
If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:32 pm

Just pushed the refuelling dialog; it works as follows:
- put in the refuel amount
- hit the refuel button
- if the new total > wing tank capacity, center tank is also refuelled simultaneously, if not just the wing tanks are refuelled.

Refuel minimum amount is zero and maximum amount is the maximum fuel amount.
Let me know of any oddities please :)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby merspieler » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:59 pm

Please check the case when center tank has remaining fuel:

When:
new totoal fuel > wing only fuel
but
new total fuel < wing only fuel + remaining center fuel

... does center get refueled as well in this case?
... logically (without looking it up) i'd say no.
If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: A320-family development

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:14 pm

When the requested total fuel capacity is greater than the wing tank capacity the center valves are opened, else it's closed. I think this is independent of how fuel is already distributed but I may be wrong. Would appreciate if you could confirm this with documentation.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7750
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: A320-family development

Postby merspieler » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:21 pm

I'll check the FCOM... I haven't got the AMM
If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: A320-family development

Postby merspieler » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:20 pm

If i understand it right, You've implemented the manual fueling procedue (related FCOM page: PER-LOD-FUL P 2/24 and P 4/24)...

> fill the wing tanks first

Is a directive... not a fact. So I guess it is both "correct" from a technical stand point. From an opperational standpoint I'd say keep filling wings first, then center if still fuel's missing to target FOB
If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests