Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Panels

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Panels

Postby FokkerCharlie » Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:04 am

Hello!

I've been trying out FlightGear for the first time over the last few days, and I have to say I'm impressed.

I was particularly pleased to see that there is a Fokker 50 model available for download, which I was keen to try. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to come with a panel! I would like to give something back to the open source community, so would like to ask if there's an idiot's guide to making a panel like this?

I'm not a programmer, but have done some in the past. For what it's worth, I'm a F-50 pilot, so would rather enjoy setting this up.

Of course, if there's someone else working on this, then I'll back off!

I've also noticed that the A320 has no panel, and doesn't look like an A320, either!

Many thanks in advance for your advice.

FC
FokkerCharlie

Version: 2

Re: Panels

Postby Groucho » Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:28 pm

FokkerCharlie wrote:Hello!

I've been trying out FlightGear for the first time over the last few days, and I have to say I'm impressed.

I was particularly pleased to see that there is a Fokker 50 model available for download, which I was keen to try. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to come with a panel! I would like to give something back to the open source community, so would like to ask if there's an idiot's guide to making a panel like this?

The F50 indeed has (like the F100) a panel- a 2D panel which you can access eg. from the menu by toggling 2D/3D menu.

Oliver
Groucho

Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT

Postby ajm » Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:45 pm

It's great to have more people with real-life experience of aircraft to help out... unfortunately there isn't really any complete guide to making instruments and panels for FG at the moment, but I'm certain you can help anyway.