Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

DavePack use in 2017.3.1  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby dilbert » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:27 pm

The OV-10, which is in the regular Add-on hangar requires DavePack for all features to work. I also have several aircraft requiring Dave Pack in my personal hangar (F4, F105).

The Dave Pack instructions call for installation in "Aircraft".

There are the following "Aircraft" files:

FlightGear 2017.3.1>data>Aircraft
Documents>FlightGear>Aircraft
Documents>FlightGear>Aircraft>org.flightger.fgaddon>Aircraft

To which of the above should DavePack be added for the OV-10?

Should it be added to an additional file for aircraft in my hangar?

Also, since aircraft residing in my hangar are included in installed aircraft by using the add-on access feature, do paths for any of these aircrafts' codes require alteration ?
Would appreciate any help. :)
dilbert
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby StuartC » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:31 pm

Any "Aircraft" directory your FlightGear is reading aircraft from will work.
StuartC
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby dilbert » Fri Dec 22, 2017 12:53 pm

Thanks Stuart. Assume, then, FlightGear 2017.3.1>data>Aircraft>DavePack would work for all. Note that some aircraft codes cite specific paths to engage DavePack features, so still have a question in my mind as to how they are accessed for the aircraft loaded from my hangar. Assume it's because they have been incorporated as "installed aircraft". Is that correct? These questions arose when I could get guns, but no rockets to work for F14 and F105. Also when I was trying to add a gun feature to the FJ-3 from Dave's Hangar. Best Regards
dilbert
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby StuartC » Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:55 pm

to keep it simple, put the Dave pack in the same aircraft folder as the Dave aircraft are living.
StuartC
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby dilbert » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:07 pm

Here's my problem. With the F4, help says "e" releases selected stores, and there is code for selecting them. However, there is no way to load the stores, and none show in chase view. Have somewhat similar problems with f105. In it's case, can load stores and see them in chase, but can't get them to release. In case of FJ3, in submodel it has <model> Aircraft/DavePack/Stores/guns/tracer.xml</model>. Tanks drop, but there's no way to fire guns, even though code indicates otherwise.
Been trying to unravel all this, and add or modify code, if necessary, to make these features work, without much success to date. Initially thought DavePack might be related-especially in case of FJ3-but apparently not. Best Regards
dilbert
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby StuartC » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:45 pm

The Yasim versions of the aircraft do not have droppable stores. Don't know about the JSB versions.
StuartC
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1

Postby dilbert » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:09 pm

FJ4 Systems>Armament has switch provision for releasing stations 1-5, including fuel loss therefrom.
FJ-4-YASIM-Set provides for 2xAIM-9, 3xMK-81, 3XMK-82, 3xMK-117, and GAM-83A..However, FJ-4 Submodels only shows trigger for dropping fuel tanks, so I'm somewhat puzzled why the YASIM version doesn't fire rockets or drop bombs..
In the case of the F-105 YASIM, both bombs and rockets can be loaded through the menu, but there is no provision in help for dropping or firing them, and same is apparently lacking in the code, which I'd like to remedy.
dilbert
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Win 10 & Chrome

Re: DavePack use in 2017.3.1  

Postby StuartC » Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:34 pm

The yasim ones don't have the code because we never added it to the yasim ones.
StuartC
 
Posts: 2698
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:18 pm
Location: Arse end of the Universe
Callsign: WF01
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: W10 64 bit


Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], J Maverick 16, tikibar and 3 guests