Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Autopilot Key Binding

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Clive2670 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:34 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong....But as far as I can see there is no key binding present for switching off / on the autopilot from the keyboard, This has to be done via the mouse and havering over the A/P button on the glare shield (On the 777) is it possible to create and bind a key (any free one) on the keyboard layout that is a "multi" function key across any plane please? Bare in mind I'm no coder or programmer so just listing a code list on how to create this would be jibberish to me!! Could this option be implemented on the next release of flightgear? Many thanks Clive
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Octal450 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:03 pm

Hi Clive

Yes it's possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

See here: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=33178

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Developer at Immersive Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
Dream no small dream; it lacks magic. Dream large. Then make the dream real. - Donald Douglas
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Location: A far corner of my room
Callsign: WTF450/Octal
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Clive2670 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:32 pm

Thanks Josh I'll try it myself!!!! Wish me luck!!!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Thorsten » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:41 pm

Could this option be implemented on the next release of flightgear?


I don't think so - key bindings are fairly precious in that the number of keys is limited and real estate on the keyboard should not be wasted, and defining a global key binding to switch the generic AP on will in the best case not work on planes which have their own AP and in the worst case completely crash those planes.

In my view, AP is an aircraft-specific function for which there need to be aircraft-specific controls (which can be key bindings, but don't really have to be).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10583
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Clive2670 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:43 pm

Thorsten wrote in Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:41 pm:
Could this option be implemented on the next release of flightgear?


I don't think so - key bindings are fairly precious in that the number of keys is limited and real estate on the keyboard should not be wasted, and defining a global key binding to switch the generic AP on will in the best case not work on planes which have their own AP and in the worst case completely crash those planes.

In my view, AP is an aircraft-specific function for which there need to be aircraft-specific controls (which can be key bindings, but don't really have to be).

Fair point Thorsten, Thought I'd ask the question though....As I didn't know if there were any "spare" keys that the chances of them being used was very nearly zero for anything else, for any plane! I didn't think...as I suppose all exsisting planes on the download page would have to be modified!!!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Autopilot Key Binding

Postby Octal450 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:04 pm

Well, if you specify a custom key, it overwrites the default FGFS binding -- for example, in my Airbus, I have custom bindings to control the FBW properly from keyboard, and they overwrite the default controls.

Each airplane uses different properties, for example, the 777's AFDS.nas uses /instrumentation/afds/inputs/AP, while the IT-AUTOFLIGHT autopilots use /it-autoflight/input/ap1 or ap2, and the generic AP has no master AP switch.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Developer at Immersive Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
Dream no small dream; it lacks magic. Dream large. Then make the dream real. - Donald Douglas
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Location: A far corner of my room
Callsign: WTF450/Octal
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64


Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FlugHund and 1 guest