Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby robelt » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:02 am

My missiles work perfectly ,returns impact report and is effective with bombable, but the missile doesn't explode nor has a motor smoke.
There is no error printed on the terminal. The log file has nothing useful. So if some one has any idea please help me out or list me the files that use the XML files of the AIM-9.
Pilot : "Bogey1 is in range..."
Bogey1 : "The Pilot is in range..."
robelt
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:01 am
Location: Angels 30
Callsign: Nemesis
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Linux - Cyborg Hawk

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:42 am

First, where did you get the F-14, and what flightgear version have you? ;)
"returns impact report", I think that is all you get unless you have the more advanced OPRF version, which properly simulates all of the missiles / weapons / systems of the F-14.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby robelt » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:49 am

I use FlightGear 3.0.0, the default tomcat. I know it is old but I believe bugs don't get created spontaneously. Just like the radar issue bug which I fixed and which the bug..S.. was very hilarious.
Pilot : "Bogey1 is in range..."
Bogey1 : "The Pilot is in range..."
robelt
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:01 am
Location: Angels 30
Callsign: Nemesis
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Linux - Cyborg Hawk

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:02 am

OK. I reccomend you use 2017.3.1; otherwise, we can't provide proper support ;)
It is old -- that is probably why you don't have it, because I don't think motor smoke was simulated back then?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby robelt » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:10 pm

what...Yes it was!
And I found out that I disabled the particle system. But thank you for your time and looking forward to your scenarios.
Pilot : "Bogey1 is in range..."
Bogey1 : "The Pilot is in range..."
robelt
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:01 am
Location: Angels 30
Callsign: Nemesis
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Linux - Cyborg Hawk

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:48 pm

OK :)
"my scenarios", sorry, I think you have the wrong person ;) I work on scenery / aircraft, not AI. But thanks anyway.

Glad you found the issue.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby Richard » Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:57 pm

robelt wrote in Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:49 am:I use FlightGear 3.0.0, the default tomcat. I know it is old but I believe bugs don't get created spontaneously. Just like the radar issue bug which I fixed and which the bug..S.. was very hilarious.


That's partially correct; however since FG 3.0 the F-14 has been greatly improved. It is extremely unlikely that I'm going to fix any faults in the 3.0 version.

Version 3.0 has a very poor flight model, and a lot of other things that don't work correctly or aren't simulated, a lot of panels missing.

There are faults that are incorrectly reported on later versions just where the model realism has been improved and e.g. the armaments and radar have been greatly improved in the upcoming 2017.3 release (not ready yet).

However the 3.0 version is great fun to fly, possibly because it isn't realistic, so if you can accept the limitations that's not a problem.
Richard
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby robelt » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:09 pm

Yes I tried downloading the new F-14B tomcat but when I am on full afterburn the Exhaust flame is just a shadeless cone, cockpit glass is not transparent and panels are really awful . Figured that the FG upgrade might fix it because the new version implements Methods that 3.0 might not even know about.
Pilot : "Bogey1 is in range..."
Bogey1 : "The Pilot is in range..."
robelt
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:01 am
Location: Angels 30
Callsign: Nemesis
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Linux - Cyborg Hawk

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:47 pm

@robelt: that's exactly right...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:35 am

robelt, if you are operating an aircraft for the 2017.3.1 version of FlightGear, it won't work with 3.0.

All those bugs are due to new features introduced in v3.6, I recommend you get 2017.3.1 once more.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7007
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: F-14B Tomcat missile has no motor smoke and explosion

Postby Richard » Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:43 pm

robelt wrote in Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:09 pm: F-14B tomcat but when I am on full afterburn the Exhaust flame is just a shadeless cone, cockpit glass is not transparent and panels are really awful .


The model in FGAddon requires 2016.1 or later. V3.0 of FlightGear is almost certainly obselete.

There is however an unsupported version for FG 3.4 that might work better on V3.0 see - http://zaretto.com/f-14 [1]

The best solution is to upgrade your FlightGear to 2017.3 - it's generally more efficient, and there are a lot of new and cool things that have been added since 3.0.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
[1] it could work; I don't know because I haven't tried it on 3.0
Richard
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10


Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests