Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

How do you Create 3d models?

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

How do you Create 3d models?

Postby kareembart » Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:36 am

Just wondering, what is the best way to create 3d models for flight gear?
kareembart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:28 am
Location: Australia
Callsign: kareem127
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Imac siera

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby Octal450 » Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:15 am

I prefer AC3D (paid), but alot of people use Blender (free), then export as an .ac

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450
 
Posts: 4397
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby kareembart » Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:19 am

That's an idea thank you! So you do create the files in a 3d design software. Would you know how to add scenery extras to your personal installed scenery?
kareembart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:28 am
Location: Australia
Callsign: kareem127
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Imac siera

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby RenanMsV » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:39 pm

Sketchup or/to Blender, modify it. export to .AC format, open in AC3D and save it (to reduce file size)
www.flightgearbrasil.com.br
www.fgbrazukas.wixsite.com/fgbrazukas
RenanMsV
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:02 am
Callsign: BR-RVD

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby Octal450 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:44 pm

Or if you use AC3D, you can save the file directly (as I do)

I've also noticed, sometimes the export goes weird (especially with textures, and duplicate objects are sometimes created)

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450
 
Posts: 4397
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby VicMar » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:22 am

Sketchup or/to Blender, modify it. export to .AC format, open in AC3D and save it (to reduce file size)
This is not necessary. We have a direct exporters from SketchUp to .ac. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wu7mwl2ywjk5 ... 7Wb8a?dl=0
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby RenanMsV » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:12 pm

Yes, but that will merge all group of objects in one. That is nice if you'll not animate anything.
I already use this plugins when I dont need animate my model.
And of course it'll use .png extension even if you used .jpg to texturize. Then you need to fix all texture references in the file.
www.flightgearbrasil.com.br
www.fgbrazukas.wixsite.com/fgbrazukas
RenanMsV
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:02 am
Callsign: BR-RVD

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby VicMar » Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:37 am

What you mention is all part of the fun in scenery modelling.

Take a look at some of my Ferris wheels. They use textures (made in Skp) and a couple even have 60 animated passenger pods.
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby kareembart » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:44 am

Thankyou all, got me going!
kareembart
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:28 am
Location: Australia
Callsign: kareem127
Version: 2018.1.1
OS: Imac siera

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:40 pm

@VicMar: did you do the "Eye of London"? how easy would it be to slow down its revolution? i understand that one revolution of the real wheel takes about 30 minutes (0.9kph, 0.6mph)... it moves slow enough that people can walk on and off each pod (25 people per pod) without the wheel stopping... the last time i looked, the one in the sim was spinning a ""bit"" faster than that taking only ~3 minutes to make a full revolution ;)

[time passes]

so i had to go rooting about... i found the eye in Objects/w010n50/w001n51... according to the xml for the eye, there was some cleanup on the eye model and the xml by Martien van der Plas... i'm not sure i'm reading the xml right but it looks like they're updating every 2 seconds... it would be nice to get it slowed down to its proper 30 minute revolution...

/me goes back to digging and rooting about in the wiki trying to figure this code out...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby VicMar » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:46 pm

The reason it rotates faster than the real one is because making it rotate at the proper (Real) rate would not show there was any animation at all. Remember, this is going to be seen at fly-past speed unless you can hover a helicopter or are using the ufo.

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:08 pm

yes, this is true... in real life, you won't see it turning when flying past, either... other than, as you say, in a helicopter or UFO... rotating at the proper rate would still work, it would just take time and, of course, someone would have to be specifically watching to see the movement...

just wait until someone works out a way to put procedural lights or sprites on it so we can see it lit up in the dark like an amusement park ;) :mrgreen:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby VicMar » Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:12 am

Lights already fitted on quite a few wheels. https://scenery.flightgear.org/app.php? ... view&id=63

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 6:24 pm

you've got a ""few"" models in that list, there... nice work :mrgreen:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5648
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: How do you Create 3d models?

Postby Catalanoic » Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:57 pm

My opinion/experience: It depens of what you want to do: for just some small or easy objects (low complexity) i recommend Sketchup over all other software (or try Blender if you already started and install that extension to push/pull style like sketchup to accelerate your 3d creation), for tweaks, post-editing and 3d revision i use AC3D sometimes, and texturing i like it too because is fast, although blender does the work for advanced texturing or complex objects. If you learn Sketchup you need the AC object exporter and take care of double sides, unseen faces, overall weight, etc.
Hope it helps :D
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7


Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amue, MSN [Bot] and 18 guests