Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Transponder properties

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Transponder properties

Postby WoodSTokk » Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:07 pm

it0uchpods wrote in Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:09 pm:Wait what?
for me, overwriting knob-mode is needed, am I understanding that it should be mode-switch instead? or is knob-mode correct?

I am asking since I am modelling the Airbus XPNDR and the the GTX-327 garmin.

Kind Regards,
Josh


Correct, '/instrumentation/transponder/inputs/knob-mode' change the behavior of the XPDR.
On the 777 the 3d knob change '/instrumentation/transponder/mode-switch' abd this have absolutaly no influence on the behavior of the XPDR.


BTW: thx 4 your awesome work on the A32x.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.3.0
OS: Debian Buster

Re: Transponder properties

Postby Octal450 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:57 pm

Oh ok, so I understood you backwards. :mrgreen:

Thanks for your clarification, and glad you enjoy the bus :D

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4642
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: Transponder properties

Postby Isaak » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:57 pm

Et voila, the 777 has a functioning transponder. It's just been committed to fgaddon, so should show up in the launcher within 24h. Thanks a lot all for helping me out!

I didn't tie the 3D-switch itself to the correct property because that broke the TCAS functionality, as the transponder and TCAS don't need the same values in that property. Instead used a small nasal script to set the right property to transponder/inputs/knob-mode. I 'm still learning a lot, so if anyone has a nicer way of implementing this, feel free to give some feedback! I also used some nasal to interpolate the indicated altitude to the transponder altitude, as the default instrumentation/altimeter/mode-s-altitude-ft is tied to the true altitude instead of the indicated altitude. This is in no way possible IRL, so I decided to recalculate the correct altitude myself. Feel free to comment on that too!

Kind regards,

Isaak
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Transponder properties

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:21 am

BEL ISAAK wrote in Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:57 pm:Et voila, the 777 has a functioning transponder. It's just been committed to fgaddon, so should show up in the launcher within 24h. Thanks a lot all for helping me out!


You're welcome!

BEL ISAAK wrote in Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:57 pm:I also used some nasal to interpolate the indicated altitude to the transponder altitude, as the default instrumentation/altimeter/mode-s-altitude-ft is tied to the true altitude instead of the indicated altitude. This is in no way possible IRL, so I decided to recalculate the correct altitude myself. Feel free to comment on that too!


Right, i have forwarded the issue to the mailing list. Looks weird if you stay on LOWI with a elevation of 1900 feet and the transponder send 1400 feet :shock:
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: OE-WST
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.3.0
OS: Debian Buster

Re: Transponder properties

Postby Isaak » Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:52 pm

For future reference: I understood the concept of pressure altitude wrong. The implemented behaviour in FlightGear is correct: it transmits the altitude at 29.92 inHg.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests