Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

More realistic Blackout/Redout

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:08 am

This is now pushed, thanks.

I'll get back to this with a shader testbed soonish.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:12 pm

Since some aircraft relied on the pilot-gdamped property I have remade that property, and it now runs all the time instead of just when redout system or headshake is in effect.
I also changed the way Yasim is detected as FDM.

Same download link as before.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:52 pm

Alan also mentioned:

Also accelerations/pilot-g appears to be stuck at 1. This will break many more aircraft. I have only checked this with JSBSim.


- did you respond to that yet?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:04 pm

That property should only be updated by Yasim as far as I understand, so if its 1 when JSBSim is running, I see no problem in it. It is nil for me when using jsbsim plane.
It worked just fine some 30 mins ago for me when I tested the system with Yasim. It also drives the blackout, and that worked as it should. (in the update I just sent you)

But I will double check now, just to be sure.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:21 pm

This is a major flaw in the way aircraft are set up... anyway, let's make sure we fix it for good even if it takes some more discussion. I guess it's possible that people copied accelerometer code from a YaSim aircraft to a JSBSim one assuming they were referencing a common layer...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:17 am

Well, if JSBSim is the active FDM, I could write to that property, so it will be usable by both FDMs?
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:31 pm

I honestly don't know - Alan seemed to flag this as a problem and had identified planes which depend on it (though why they'd work right now is a mystery to me then) - maybe we ask him for details?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:44 pm

From what I read he was referring to 29 planes that used the accelerations/pilot-gdamped property. Not the accelerations/pilot-g, but I have sent him PM now, asking to clarify.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:56 pm

He mentions a couple of planes that use that property. For example the zero seems to use it to move the head position, and its both a Yasim and JSBSim plane.

I do still think the way forward is to update that property even if JSBSim is running also, that will probably fix some gauges and features in various planes. Else it can be confusing, especially if it is 1.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:36 am

Okay - we do it like that, push an updated version and see what happens. Let me know once the xml file on the download location is updated.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Alant » Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:29 am

I started checking JSBSim aircraft that use the accelerations/pilot-g property..
After checking aircraft with names starting with a digit or the letter A the following came up.
737-300, A-6E, A6M2, ASK13.

I have not checked the rest of the alphabet, but at that rate there will be another 20 aircraft..

My test for JSBsim was very simple - I just looked for the string "<flight-model>jsb". There could be more if there is are spaces or new line characters before "jsb". e.g. "<flight-model> jsb".

No doubt this was bought about by copying blocks of code from Yasim aircraft (or from wiki/forum examples) without being the author aware that pilot-g is a Yasim only property. I begs the question - what other Yasim properties are not identified as such and are being wrongly used in JSBsim aircraft ?

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Wed Nov 23, 2016 11:34 am

It is updated, changes to all 3 files
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:14 pm

Sorry, there's still something awry. Just starting with the c-172p I get

Code: Select all
Nasal runtime error: nil used in numeric context
  at /home/fgfs/fgdata/Nasal/redout.nas, line 27
  called from: /home/fgfs/fgdata/Nasal/redout.nas, line 76


upon startup indicating that the script doesn't actually run. This happens only when I have head movement due to g-forces selected at startup in preferences - it works fine if I select the option in-sim. Seems to be some init weirdness.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11087
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:15 pm

I will look into it.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: More realistic Blackout/Redout

Postby Necolatis » Wed Nov 23, 2016 1:06 pm

preferences.xml is updated now.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1987
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests