Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

IDG A32X Development Archive - Closed

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:21 pm

It has come to my attention that the "Tools" menue is missing on Macs (why the hell stuff is so different for the Mac FGFS????????????????????????)

This may be an issue as the pushback and other things are located there.

We are working on a solution. Please understand it.

I got a older MacBook on my hands, so I'll try to do some testing there.

Thank you and Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby V12 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:00 am

it0uchpods :

Today, I made my first serious flight with A320. Perfect plane ! But found some strange thing : after smooth and fine touchdown I activated brakes and reversers. When speed drop to zero, nose wheel suddenly rise up and back portion of the fuselage hit runway :

Image

All flight from Bagdogra to the touchdown was flawless, plane didn't need large trim. Is it bug or I made something wrong ? Fgtape is here https://ulozto.net/!s4djJwaOAmOz/a320-2 ... 048-fgtape.
Can You check it please ?
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Wecsje » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:10 am

@V12

What do you mean with activate brakes? Autobrake is not implemented yet, so you need to use normal braking (lowercase b on keyboard). Did you change anything to the plane load, ie: was there a lot of weight in the back? It could also be that you left thrust rev on (doesn't look like it from the picture tho). Also, the A320 will auto trim itself, so you will only need to input it at the stand before engine startup (recommended using t/o config of 1/UP1.4).

Regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)

PS: not sure if you know this, but for thrust rev it is recommended to use f1 and f2 as they will set the rev thrust in incrememts. DEL will toggle full rev.
Twitch Streams: https://www.twitch.tv/wecsjelive
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FlightSims United discord (https://discord.me/flightsimsunited), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby V12 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:45 am

Plane was in default configuration. I used normal braking and full reversers with DEL key. I didn't changed anything in the plane load or FOB. In the flight plane was not too hard on the tail and flew with pitch near zero. Some minutes ago I landed at Paro with Triple Seven without any trouble.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Wecsje » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:56 am

Hmm, thats weird, I will test it out myself later today, and see what happens. I'll also let Josh know of the problem and see if he can get it fixed if needed. Thanks for letting us know.

Regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)
Twitch Streams: https://www.twitch.tv/wecsjelive
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FlightSims United discord (https://discord.me/flightsimsunited), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Flyngo » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:25 am

Hello, great plane under heavy development. THX!!!!

Have the same prob as V 12 - with the A320s and the 727 - land, reverse thrust, when the plane comes to a stop a short tip on the brakes is enough to tipple backwards. My workaround was to take extreme care to disengage reverse thrust and give the plane a small forward momentum before using the hand brake.
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Wecsje » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:43 am

It sounds like you had reverse thrust on the whole time, be sure to turn off reverse thrust below 60 knots, and then brake. If you brake to hard with rev thrust the plane might tip (especially when it comes to a full stop).

Kind regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)
Twitch Streams: https://www.twitch.tv/wecsjelive
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FlightSims United discord (https://discord.me/flightsimsunited), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Darkriser » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:56 am

@V12: Ahoj:-)
I've seen your fgtape and can definitely confirm that this is a combination of reverse + full brake at zero speed.
Can be very easily reproduced:
- start FG and start the engines (at gate or on rwy, doesn't matter)
- apply parking brakes
- press DEL (or other shortcut to apply full reverse)

This flip may seem a little bit unrealistic, however operating procedures do not allow reverse thrust at full stop anyway.
(usually, they must be fully stowed by 60kts)
Darkriser
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Version: next
OS: Arch Linux

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Wecsje » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:01 am

I didn't get to view the tape yet, so thanks for doing that :D. Anyways, I assume the issue is closed then. To recap: as soon as main landing gear touches (or when ground spoilers activate), use f2 to enable rev (setting is: idle, 30, 50 and full, or something like that), use f1 to turn it off again (see uecam for status). Disengage before 60kts and brake further.

Regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)
Twitch Streams: https://www.twitch.tv/wecsjelive
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FlightSims United discord (https://discord.me/flightsimsunited), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby V12 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:25 am

Yes, probably You are right, I repeated this strange behaviour - landed with fully deployed air brakes, full flaps and full reversers on the main gear, few seconds after that nose gear hit tarmac. Braking hard to zero speed, when speed drop to zero, nose gear fully compressed, then lenghted to full length and catapulted nose of the airplane to the air. When I switched off reversers, nose gear landed on the runway. IMHO, gravity center in default condition is too far back.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Wecsje » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:27 am

We will take a look at that then.

Regards,

Charlie (Wecsje)
Twitch Streams: https://www.twitch.tv/wecsjelive
Contact methods: Discord (Wecsje#6351), FlightSims United discord (https://discord.me/flightsimsunited), Steam (Wecsje)
Track me on VATSIM: https://vatstats.net/pilots/1397313
User avatar
Wecsje
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:13 am
Location: The Closet, Under the Stairs, the Netherlands
Callsign: WS208J
Version: Newest
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby V12 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:27 am

I quickly tested A318 and 319, they had that problem too. But only in case of use full reversers to the zero speed. Without reversers nose gear will not go up.

Darkriser :
Ahoooj :)
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:56 pm

Hi all,
Thanks for the information.
I have successfully reproduces this on landing, while reversed should be in by 60, the real plane wouldn't tip like this. I am experimenting with a fix for both this, and the 727.

Glad you are enjoying our masterpiece!

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby V12 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:29 pm

Thanx in advance :)
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Airbus A320 Family Development

Postby Octal450 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:41 pm

Welcome

Kind Regards,
Josh
What I do: Flight Dynamics, Systems, Canvas Displays, Autoflight, FlyByWire, Cockpit Animations
Aircraft I currently develop: MD-11 (Mainly), Secret, A320-family (Quality over Quantity)

My GitHub|MD-11 and ITAF Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4716
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 1 guest